What’s the point then?

9 Jan

I really enjoy scrolling down CraftGossip‘s blog. It’s usually a treasure trove of links to interesting tutorials and/or true works of art that start as crafts (such as this).

I like it enough to have the little widget thingie on the sidebar over there–>

I don’t click on every link they feature, but when I do, it annoys me a little to find that it’s to yet another compilation blog. How hard is it to follow the link trail and link to the originator of the work? I asked this, more or less, and got this response:

I respect your right to be critical, but I wanted to give credit to where I found the post which does link to the originator of the project.

To which I say, it’s very easy to say “found via (blog)” and give credit to both parties.

Interestingly, when I posted a similar comment to this other linking post, pointing to the original tutorial at the blog Paper Pieces of Me, my comment was deleted.

Picture me dumbfounded.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers