Romance, power, beauty, permanence…

11 Jan

Wil Wheaton has an awesome post on why print books are not likely to ever be fully replaced by digital books.

“an eReader sitting on a nightstand doesn’t say “pick me up and read me” the same way a book does”

Indeed.

 

2 Responses to “Romance, power, beauty, permanence…”

  1. twooldfartstalkingromance 11/01/2013 at 8:27 PM #

    Once upon a time I might have agreed but now that we’re not reading children’s books… I have to admit that I choose an ebook over a paper book every single time.

    • azteclady 11/01/2013 at 8:34 PM #

      It’s diversity that makes the world move on–and while I’m much slower than most to adopt new technology, I see the appeal of ebooks, I honestly do.

      I’m just more comfortable with the physicality of the printed page, and in the security that a) I own my copy beyond the power of the publisher or distributor to delete it, and b) I do not depend on anything other than my eyes to access the content within the pages.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers