If you’d rather not hear me wax poetic…

6 Jun

…about the new job, you may want to skip this note.

There are many things that make this job a much better fit for me, from the fact that as long as I’m here there will be new things to learn (and I mean this literally–the company is a division of a humongous media corporation, and what it does is incredibly varied; it’s also small enough for my department to have access and support all the other departments), to the amazing informality of the environment.

One example as supporting evidence:

Previous (now part time) job: no staff room. Heck, there aren’t even lockers available to employees. At my level, we at least have access to the office to lock our purses in, but the minions? They have to leave their bags hanging in the back, out of camera range, accessible to anyone with a bit of malice.

Current job: there’s a kitchenette setup, a TV set in every office (you read that right, and most of them are on throughout the day), and…

Well, an image is worth a thousand words. Seen on a table in one of the offices:

At the new job

(And yes, that’s two Evanovitchs and a vintage Sharon Sala right between the mysteries)

~ * ~

All kidding aside, the change in my mood and outlook is very, very significant.

Before May 27th, every day that I had to go to work simply sucked.  Just making it to work on time took all my mental energy, and there was practically nothing to spare to actually do the job–particularly the “present a happy face to the customer” part of it. I could summon no enthusiasm for pretty much anything (with the notable exception of a couple of books, I had fallen back on re-reading like crazy, just to try and stay sane (yes, I heard that in my head as I typed it, but since it’s true, it stays)).

This past week? I’ve been waking up happy and raring to go to work. Once there, the hours have flown, and I spent every moment hungry to learn more.

I am aware that part of this feeling is simply the newness of the environment, but mostly it’s knowing that if I finally blow my stack at the now-part-time job? If I finally tell off an asshole of a customer, or even my asshole of a boss? If for whatever reason they fire me? I’ll be okay–I have a job.

The simple security of knowing I have a fall back–let alone that I’m going to be making so much more there compared to my income of the past four, six months (since asshole boss had been cutting my hours to the bone) has lightened my mood drastically.

I’m…happy.

Being happy has meant that the last few shifts at the part-time job, asshole customers and asshole bosses have basically not bothered me at all. They, and their actions/words, no longer have the power to hurt me. If it gets to be too much, I can choose to walk away.

3 Responses to “If you’d rather not hear me wax poetic…”

  1. twooldfartstalkingromance 06/06/2014 at 4:31 PM #

    God damn, I’m delighted for you.

  2. Kat 10/06/2014 at 1:07 PM #

    Your happy posts make me happy, too, AZ. :) It’s awful to feel stuck in a horrible job, and I’m glad you’ve found something so much better.

  3. Vanessa Jaye 17/06/2014 at 10:05 PM #

    Azec, may your happiness and satisfaction multiply in your new job. So happy for you, :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers