A helping of WTF?!?!?

10 Sep

The idea for this post comes from a thread at The Book Binge a week or so ago. I have been steaming ever since, and didn’t want to take over their blog with it, so I am dragging it over here.

Lori Uscher-Pines, PhD (in what? I don’t know and don’t feel like looking) has penned a guide to “empower” women—by teaching them how to squeeze a proposal out of the men in their lives.

Here’s the title and blurb from amazon:

The Get-Your-Man-to-Marry-You Plan: Buying the Cow in the Age of Free Milk

What’s a gal to do when her man’s giving her everything she wants except a ring? This irreverent guide will help the marriage-ready woman evaluate the severity of her not-so-ready man’s excuses for delaying marriage and sharpen her abilities to dismantle them. With a funny but firm hand, Lori Uscher-Pines, who herself maneuvered for a ring from her now-husband, offers the reader serious tips for securing a marriage proposal from the excuse-ridden, free-milk-gulping man she loves.
Buying the Cow in the Age of Free Milk includes:

*How to know if it’s really time to push for a ring
*The difference between me excuses, you excuses and institution of marriage excuses
*The “severity” scale of common male excuses, and the associated tactics for changing his mind
*Behavior fouls not to make on the quest for a proposalPushing for a proposal is about female empowerment, and this must-have guide will help the reader take control of her personal life without giving up the romantic, “then-he-got-down-on-one-knee” moment she’s always imagined.

The author showed up a couple of hours after Holly’s post (Google, anyone?) with this pearl of wisdom:

Hey ladies,

My name is Lori Uscher-Pines and I am the author of “Buying the Cow.” I saw your comments about the book and I just wanted to clarify a couple of points. I appreciate your interest in the topic.
The reason that the book is about “female empowerment” is the timing of an engagement shouldn’t be totally up to men. After all, if a marriage is really a partnership, it is unfair that a woman has no control whatsoever about when a marriage will start. The book is only for people in serious, committed relationships so it isn’t about forcing a guy, but about having a timeline that works for both of you. Also, the title is meant to be tongue-in- cheek. The question “why buy the cow…” is absurd and something my crazy grandma would say. It is meant to be funny but also to refer to a truth in human nature- that people are unlikely to make a long term investment if they can get the benefits without the investment. This is true in all aspects of life, including relationships. I hope that you will read the book to see that I am truly a feminist who believes that women should get whatever they want in life- whether that be a husband or not. I’m not here to question your desires or choices (i.e. to marry or not to marry), I am just here to help you get what you (the strong female) want.

Perhaps I’m not smart enough but what’s wrong with a strong woman being direct instead of manipulative? I mean, a strong woman could, oh I don’t know, do the asking herself?

