Drive by quandary

10 Sep

In light of Quartet Press closing before opening, and among the wank already started and the much more to come, it strikes me (again) to see all those comments that boil down to, “Never submit to a new publisher.”

While I understand being cautious, there are two things that bug the hell out of me whenever I read that:

a) New publishers aren’t, by a long sight, the only ones screwing up their authors–and editors–all over the place *coughnewconceptscough*

and

b) If no one submits to a new publisher, how the fuck is that publisher ever going to have anything to publish?

I mean, I know I’m not the only one who wants more reputable choices in the marketplace, so this whole “smart people don’t submit to new pubs until they’ve proven themselves” seems… well, self-defeating. After all, no submissions, no published books, no profit, no publisher.

