A tale of a reading slump–and a SONY reader

7 Jul

I’ve bemoaned before the cursed reading slump that hit me months ago (yes, months–it’s a wonder I’m not crazier than I am, really, what with such long reading deprivation).

Well, I’m pleased as punch to announce that it seems to be ended–in the course of a week I’ve read a number of new books (not more of the wimpy re-reads I’d been reduced to *happy dancing*). Among these are:

Unbriddled by Beth Williamson

The Irish Warrior by Kris Kennedy

Welcome to Harmony by Jodi Thomas

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss

and more! (quite a few, too many to list in fact!) *renewed happy dance*

Where does the Sony reader come in, you ask? Well, now that I’m back to reading, I’m faced with a wee problem. See, I don’t own a car.

*waits for shock to die*

So, I ride my bike back and forth to work, dragging a wonderful contraption called a bike trailer (google it, people, those things are the best thing devised since femenine products and disposable napkins). While the thing does have enough capacity for a number of items–which is great, since I do my grocery shopping with it–I try to keep it as empty of non-essential items as possible. After all, there’s no point in dragging a hundred pounds behind me if I don’t need to, right?

But, the reader in me argues, books are essential–what are you going to do if you find yourself on break (whether you want to be on break or not!) and there is no book in your bag? Or if you finish the one book in your bag during that break, what then? Or…

And that is when the Sony reader came to the rescue.

See, a while back (late last year, in fact) author Shiloh Walker held a giveaway for a Sony reader and, what with one thing and another, I was the winner. Having lusted after one of those for months, I was over the moon.

However, being techno-impaired, it took me a while to figure out how to get all my digital books into it. After much frustration and gnashing of teeth, I finally figured out how to get most of my digital library into the reader without issues and am now happily engrossed with Ann Bruce’s Parker’s Price.

Also in the reader are a number of digital ARCs for upcoming books that authors, ever generous, have sent me these past few months. With any luck, the reviewing slump will end soon, and you’ll be seeing more about these titles here.

*

(apologies for the crappy image, sometimes the digital camera thinks for itself–did I mention “techno-impaired”?)
