Whodathunkit? Handedness bias in knitting.

21 Dec

I’m left handed.

Like all left-handed people, I have learned to cope with a world where everything is designed for right-handed people, from scissors to ice cream scoops, to shift stick cars to computers’ mice. For the most part, truthfully, it’s no biggie, and it has make me less dependent on my dominant hand–closer to ambidextrous, you may say.

However, there are certain activities for which nothing but my left hand will do, most of them related to crafting. I cannot hold a sewing needle with my right hand unless it’s to thread it–for sewing, it’s all about my left hand. For knitting, I use both hands but I recently discovered that not only do I knit completely left-handedly (is that a word?) but that there is a bias towards right-handedness in knitting.

Apparently, most left handed knitters knit the same way right handed knitters do, up to and including knitting from right to left.

I don’t–I knit as I write and read, from left to right. This is, once again, no big deal, right?

Well, not quite… apparently there is a right and a wrong way of knitting from left to right, particularly with things like cables, so that the twist in the cable goes from right to left instead of (insert expression of horror here) “backwards” (aka, how I do it).

Huh.

Honestly, does anyone really cares whether the cable twists ‘right’ (image on left) or ‘backwards’ (image on right)

(first image, detail from Lion Brand’s free pattern for Mixed Messages Scarf–second image, extreme close up of one of my hand knit scarves)
3 Responses to “Whodathunkit? Handedness bias in knitting.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coincidink? « Her Hands, My Hands - 07/02/2012

    […] I happen to be left handed and stubborn, which translated in my refusal to knit right handed, and their despairing of ever figuring out how […]

  2. Pondering handedness: no, it’s not ‘easier’ in the long run. « Her Hands, My Hands - 08/02/2012

    […] is still a push to maintain the status quo–of all places, in knitting. I wrote about this before, mostly as a quaint little non-issue. Bottom line, I does not affect me in any tangible way that […]

  3. Double cable scarf in navy for Tania B (January 2012) « Her Hands, My Hands - 21/03/2012

    […] while back I posted about knitting left-handedly and how apparently all my cables are wrong because they cross in the opposite direction as those of […]

Comments are closed.

