Altered Tin and Accordion Mini for Aleem (June 2011)

21 Jan

Beware: yet another image heavy post

altered tin can - top

I have always been intrigued by well constructed items deemed by most as disposable. Sturdy, well designed cardboard boxes have long been kept, covered and altered by me–there is a one such box in my bathroom right now holding a number of hair accessories. I made it before I conceived my firstborn¹.

In similar fashion, I have held on to discarded containers of varied shapes and materials, looking for just the right idea or purpose to give them a new identity. Imagine my delight in finding, through YouTube, videos showing altered Altoid cans² (of which I happened to have one at hand, which I had been using to store buttons).

I immediately grabbed some paper, cardstock, adhesives, some stamps, a bit of ribbon and a few brads and…well, here it is. (You can click on the images to zoom in.)

I had recently come across some steampunk-ish stamps that I was chomping at the bit to use, such as this clock face. The brad means it can rotate (now I need to figure out how to make actual hands…) I wish I had taken better (and more) pictures of the outside. The bottom had the same paper as the lid, but I used a bit of darker paper around the tin. That’s also where I signed it.

When you take out the album, there’s another sweet sentiment from yet another stamp set (I cannot for the life of me tell you who makes them–I don’t keep the stamps in their original packaging).

The closure is made with a ribbon tie adhered to the back cover and two plastic pearls that crisscross loosely. Most of the elements on the album were cut by hand–as you can probably tell by the unevenness (is that a word?) of the stamped flowers.

I have been kicking myself for not taking pictures of the actual process, like I did with Lauren’s journal, but I confess that once I started putting it together I didn’t come up for air until it was done.

I incorporated several ideas I’d seen online, leaving plenty of space for journaling or pictures while (hopefully) giving it a bit of visual interest. Aside from the stamped flowers you may notice some layered ones (such as those in the lid, both outside and inside, or the one holding the ‘you are loved’ tag in the image below) made from a number of punched out flowers held together with a brad.Keeping in mind that this was my first attempt at an accordion mini and really one of my earliest forays into things scrapbook-y, I was quite happy with how it turned out. Even if it’s a bit…well, purple! ³

I prefer simple and uncluttered lines, particularly for something so small–keep in mind that an ordinary Altoids tin is about 3″ by 1½” or thereabouts. I wanted the ultimate recipient (Aleem’s girlfriend³) to be able to actually use this mini as a journal or photo album, after all.

* * * * *

¹ For anyone who cares, the first kidlet was born in July 1988.

² At the time I didn’t link to it–now I wish I had! Searching YouTube while editing this post, I found no less than five different videos claiming credit for the original idea on this or that variation (attaching the mini to the tin with a ribbon, for example) and asking for anyone who comes looking for ideas to link back to them. I confess I’m a bit saddened. I know someone somewhere first came up with that particular idea, but I cannot afford a twenty hour search checking original upload dates to figure out who it was!

³ Purple = Aleem’s gf’s favorite color.

3 Responses to “Altered Tin and Accordion Mini for Aleem (June 2011)”

  1. claire93 23/01/2012 at 12:29 PM #

    I’m glad I’m not the only person who keeps everything because “you never know when it will come in handy” ^^

    • azteclady 23/01/2012 at 8:46 PM #

      Indeed, you never know–and inspiration can, and often does, from the most unlikely places and in weird ways.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Teenie Tiny Mini Journal / Album | Her Hands, My Hands - 18/05/2015

    […] security envelope paper, which was inked. The little face clock in the front (the same stamp used in this project) is attached with a small brad to its background, so it rotates. The little charm on the spine came […]

Leave a Reply

