The Cruella (hat) for Kris B. (November 2011)

13 Feb

I am not sure if every artisan feels the same, but I confess that I’m absolutely thrilled when someone contacts me and asks, “Can you make this for me?” Part of me wants to bounce all over the room, squeeeeeeeing like a fangirl at a booksigning (yes, I’m a bookaholic, your point?) while part of me is half-frozen with panic: can I really make that?

And so, when I make it and ship it, and the recipient likes it…Well, there’s no feeling like it, really.

Last November, the lovely Kris B gave me such a thrill when she sent me the image of a model wearing a wig resembling Cruella de Vil from Disney’s One Hundred and One Dalmatians, and asked, Can you make this hat for me?

Here is my answer (click the images for bigger size):

I particularly liked that it’s knit in one piece. I didn’t have a way to take pictures, but when stretched, the place where the colors change turned out just the way I wanted it to–yes! *fist pump*

Leave a Reply

