It really is crack (aka, J. R. Ward’s BDB)

28 Mar

I wish I understood what exactly is it that makes this tripe so addictive.

And make no mistake, it is tripe. All the characters, regardless of their purported history, experiences, age, social milieu, habits or hobbies, speak with the same voice. They all use the same slang expressions, they are all capable of identifying designer clothing and accessories, and to calculate, on sight, how much any object or outfit cost the wearer.

Then there are the mounting inconsistencies in the world building–and let’s not even touch on the inclusion of new and even more contrived storylines (a fallen angel? werewolves? the Scribe Virgin has an actual Father?)

I have mentioned these irritants before and bemoaned the popularity of the series all over the place–so why is it that I am waiting with no little excitement for my copy of Lover Reborn to finally get here?

2 Responses to “It really is crack (aka, J. R. Ward’s BDB)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changing direction | Her Hands, My Hands - 14/04/2015

    […] Through the years I’ve tried to wean myself of this shit, with little to no success. […]

  2. Dark Needs at Night’s Edge, by Kresley Cole | Her Hands, My Hands - 07/07/2016

    […] I love it when authors use this technique effectively (example of doing it really, really bad: BDB). In this particular case, because while the characters are on the page together, they can’t […]

Leave a Reply

