Magic doesn’t *really* die…

10 Aug

though it can hide behind the drudgery of life.

I’ve been pretty down lately–not just in the I’m a cynical curmudgeonly bitch way, but in a what on earth do I wake up for every morning way–which is a rather more serious matter, obviously.

Among other things, I’ve been missing the once-kidlets. Now young adults living the beginning of their own adventures far away from home, it’s natural that I miss the closeness of years past.

One of the things I remember with most joy–and that rather lovely ache around your heart, a tightening of your throat with the intense feeling of missing them–is when the three of us would pile on my bed in the afternoons and weekends, each with his/her own book, and spent a few hours giggling or sighing, or even tearing up, each one lost in our own little world. Yet a world deeply shared by the other two bookworms on the bed.

Such afternoons started a very long time ago, as I’m blessed in that both my kids have been avid readers since a fairly early age. It became almost a ritual when I bought the first two of the Harry Potter books at a Scholastics book fair–early Fall 1999, September, I believe–and read a couple of chapters out loud to both of them.

We all became so absorbed into the world of the novels that, by the time The Order of the Phoenix was released, I actually took the two kidlets–all by my lonesome–to the midnight releases to buy the family’s copy.

We went to see the first three movies as early after they opened as we could (and bought the DVDs, also as soon as we could, then watched them again and again).

And we read and re-read–and re-re-read–the novels, in order, in preparation for the releases of The Half-Blood Prince and then The Deathly Hollows. (Though here I confess not one of the three of us cared much for the last book as a whole, and all three positively despise the syrupy epilogue.)

As I was feeling so very nostalgic about the whole thing, I did some desultory searching of YouTube for Harry Potter related videos, and found a whole series of them out there. Some of them quite lengthy (such as the very detailed if somewhat repetitive Creating the World of Harry Potter) and some obviously made as extras for the series as a whole (Robbie Coltraine narrates 50 Greatest Harry Potter Moments, for example).

I hope to be able, eventually, to purchase a full set of the movies with ALL possible bonus features (I am one of those somewhat obsessive, somewhat annoying people who watch the movie, then watch it again with director/actor commentary, for example).

Alas, that time has not yet come–but the memories are just as sweet.

So much so, that I feel a full re-read is in my very near future–after a couple of short phone calls.

4 Responses to “Magic doesn’t *really* die…”

  1. Lori 10/08/2012 at 11:19 AM #

    My mother and I both loved the books and we read them and saw the movies together. She died before the series ended and when it did I felt so heartbroken that she never saw it. Hell, I just started crying when writing that.

    I totally understand how you feel.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank you, Jenniebellie! « Her Hands, My Hands - 17/08/2012

    […] mentioned how lately I’ve been feeling rather down. One of the first things that goes away when that happens is the mojo–both the reading (and […]

  2. Disjointed thoughts on Harry Potter (not quite a review, frankly) « Her Hands, My Hands - 08/09/2012

    […] I mentioned a few weeks ago, I’ve been feeling more than a bit nostalgic for happier times, a feeling I indulged by […]

Leave a Reply

