It comes down to trust…

8 Mar

I was reading this piece on nbc news about a company that has been continuously run by the same family for 390 years.

Almost four centuries–one family, one company.

Clearly, a whole bunch of people have been doing something right, correct?¹

The part I find fascinating is the fact that for decades there have been no layouts. None. Mind you, I’m sure not all the people hired have always worked out and people who are incompetent or incompatible with the company’s policies surely find their way to the door. But none of them have been laid off.

The CEO says, “You take care of us, and we’ll take care of you.”

Don’t I wish.

I work for a food service franchise, and the way things are over here is that you can be working at one location one day, then receive a phone call at the end of your shift and be informed that you now work at a different location–starting the next day. And I’m not even a salaried employee–no benefits, no guarantee of a minimum number of hours under different managers, nothing.

With the job market as it is, you could say that the company is relying on the fact that for each open position there are dozens, if not hundreds, of people willing to work under such conditions–and to a large extent this is true. But I’ve heard, from people who have worked for them for a close to a decade, that this is standard operating procedure for them.

And, from what I hear from people who work for other large corporations/franchises, this is pretty much the way things are all across the board.

Sucks, don’t it?

And I wonder, having seen the revolving door of employees who don’t get what they need out of a job, no matter how well they perform it, looking for something a bit better, a position in which the company will take care of them as they take care of the company, whether this small, long-lived company doesn’t have something important to teach corporations.

But hey, I just an hourly employee, what do I know?

~ ~ * ~ ~

¹ and because I can’t help myself, another old and much better known family business:

Leave a Reply

