Release alert: Breaking Her Rules, a romantic suspense story

6 Apr

Disclaimer: please note that I have not yet read any of Ms Reus’s work, so I can’t personally recommend it. Here’s a review of No One to Trust, the first novel in the series by Lillie of RR@H Novel Thoughts, and here’s the GoodReads page for Breaking Her Rules. This post is an entry in the author’s Spread the Word Sale Contest to promote the novel’s release. If/when I review any of Ms Reus’s works, I’ll make sure to link it here as an edit.

~ * ~

Breaking Her Rules

As anyone who has read my reviews for the past…yikes, over five years! may have noticed, I’m a fan of well done romantic suspense. Plotting and characterization must be both balanced and believable–otherwise, the whole building collapses.

I’m looking forward to reading Katie Reus’ Breaking Her Rules–finding an author you like with a sizable backlist is always a boon, so wish me luck! This is the sixth title in Ms Reus’s Red Stone Security romantic suspense series, but the author states that each title can be read as a stand alone story, which is great for people like me who are a bit…obsessed with reading order

The blurb:

Iris Tarango is a small-town girl from the wrong side of the tracks; she’s also a decorated former Marine who fought hard to become one of Red Stone Security’s most respected agents. But her perfectly ordered life is turned upside down when she’s assigned to guard the sexy, dominating tycoon she shares a secret history with. The instant Iris walks back into the billionaire’s diamond-studded orbit, the wild attraction flares between them…and her reputation, objectivity, and heart are in trouble.

After an attempt on his life, business magnate Wyatt Christiansen calls in major favors to hire Iris as his bodyguard. He knows she’s the best, though he has another motive too. He sees this as his final chance to win her heart. But when danger spins out of control, all Wyatt can think of is getting Iris out of harm’s way—even if it means losing her love in the end.

Unfortunately, the killer seems to know their every move. If Wyatt and Iris don’t figure out who put out the hit, they’ll lose more than their chance at happiness together.

Breaking Her Rules is being released tomorrow, April 7th, and for a limited time it’s available at the bargain price of 99¢ (buy links from Ms Reus’ blog post:  Amazon, Amazon UK, Barnes & Noble, All Romance eBooks, and Apple iTunes)

 

 

2 Responses to “Release alert: Breaking Her Rules, a romantic suspense story”

  1. Carolyn McCullough 11/04/2013 at 7:39 PM #

    I like romantic suspense but … that cover! Is that a growth on his neck? Or am I looking at it wrong? If I cross my eyes, will it be fixed? 😉

    Seriously, what’s with his neck?

    It kept me from buying the book when I first saw the sale, but what the hell …

    • azteclady 11/04/2013 at 9:06 PM #

      You know, I didn’t look at the cover all that closely–my brain often fills in the brains. I thought that it was part of her other arm, such as if the palm of her hand is at his temple, so we only see the back curve of her forearm. Then I looked a bit more closely and I speculated that it could be part of his shoulder/top of his arm (say, if they are standing and he’s hanging on to something overhead or over to his left with that arm, into a somewhat twisted angle, and then the photoshop cut off that arm completely…), but after going to Ms Reus’s website and looking at the full size image I am not so sure.

      Short answer: I have no clue, but now I’m going to be obsessing over it. Thanks, Carolyn 😡

      😉

Leave a Reply

