Nobody should go bankrupt if they get sick

30 Apr

I am uninsured. I am single, live alone and, while my annual income puts me above the poverty line in my state, I still have pretty much nothing in the way of disposable income, and saving for retirement is not even in the realm of dreams for me, as there is literally nothing left after every paycheck.

I worry a lot about paying my bills, and I worry a hell of a lot more about getting sick–missing a couple of days of work means one or more bills may go unpaid, creating a vicious circle difficult to break out from.

At the moment, I don’t know enough about the specific requirements of the so-called Obamacare and how they will affect me, how much money I’ll have to set aside for yet another monthly bill¹, etc.

In all likelihood, the implementation of the law will be difficult, bumpy, complicated and will create economic disruption for many, at least for a while. And yet, I think it will be better than the current system. At the very least, I agree with this:

“In a country as wealthy as ours, nobody should go bankrupt if they get sick,” he said, adding, “We would rather have people getting regular checkups than going to the emergency room because they don’t have health care — if we keep that in mind, then we’re going to be able to drive down costs; we’re going to be able to improve efficiencies in the system; we’re going to be able to see people benefit from better health care. And that will save the country money as a whole over the long term.”

~ ~ * ~ ~

¹ Going by my annual taxes, it seems the government thinks I should live happily on even less than what I do make, but that’s another story.

4 Responses to “Nobody should go bankrupt if they get sick”

  1. Lori 30/04/2013 at 11:20 PM #

    I need a new knee. I can barely walk, sometimes the pain is a challenge. But I’d have to pay $1000 out of pocket as well as miss a couple of weeks work. Not possible. So I swallow ibuprofen and pray. If a doctor can’t inject away some of the pain then I plan to go to the local DSHS office and plead for Medicaid asistance. And I have insurance.

    I don’t know what politicians think poverty is but even with a job, we’re only one week away from disaster.

  2. Christine 02/05/2013 at 8:40 PM #

    I’m so sorry for the hardships you’re facing. I agree with Lori.. I don’t think politicians have a clue about how close SO many Americans are to being in dire financial straits. It’s frightening.

    • azteclady 06/05/2013 at 9:59 PM #

      Christine, I think that many more people are on the ragged edge of bankruptcy than there are not. My case is not that special, and I’m at least employed.

      Whether politicians know, or care, there is no easy fix to the economy. We just have to hang in there until things get better–while praying they don’t get worse.

Leave a Reply

