I truly am an awful person

2 Sep

(not that there was any great doubt, mind you)

I was reading CraftGossip, as I tend to do, scrolling part articles, looking for something interesting to make (or at least to read about), when this bit caught my eye: about 30 women, members of the Women’s Institute somewhere in Britain, spent a full year knitting “a village” (miniature people houses, church, farm–the works).

Which is all good and dandy, right? Save, perhaps, that these good ladies intended, all along, to donate their finished creation to…

A hospital.

A children’s hospice, to be precise.

For sick children to play with.

Think about it for a second, if you will.

Of course, no hospice or hospital can accept such a gift–I shudder to imagine what would end up being transmitted through it.

~ ~ * ~ ~

Anyway, this is why I’m an awful person: my first reaction was to wonder who on earth could be so utterly deprived of common sense as to imagine a knitted toy of this nature to be an appropriate gift for a hospital ward.

I am sure the ladies mean well indeed, and perhaps the final recipient (an orphanage in Africa) will make full good use of the village, but I still cannot help but wonder–who the hell thinks up these things?

3 Responses to “I truly am an awful person”

  1. Lori 02/09/2013 at 8:13 PM #

    I don’t think you’re an awful person. You’re sensible and you knit. Put those things together and you came to a quick realization that none of those women thought through.

    • azteclady 02/09/2013 at 8:22 PM #

      You know what baffles me?

      That once they were done, they still thought it made sense.

      I can see them dreaming of adding variety and spice to their knitting by knitting a village, but to actually and honestly think, once it was done, that it could be used as they intended?

      Seriously???

  2. Lori 08/09/2013 at 1:06 PM #

    The more time I spend on this earth the more I realize that very few people are capable of rational thinking.

Leave a Reply

