May you forever be at peace, Robin.

11 Aug

I just now learned that Robin Williams is dead. Some of you may know that he suffered from depression for most of his life. Apparently it was bad at the moment and suicide is suspected. I am sure I join many, many people all around the globe who are thinking not only of the loss of such a talented human being, but of his family.

For many reasons this has hit me a lot harder than it may have otherwise.

I was never lucky enough to meet Robin Williams, and I can’t presume to know much about the person behind the public persona, but I’m extremely sad by the loss of life and hope on a person still young and vital, a person who had brought so much joy to countless people of different ages and upbringings and beliefs.

Towards the end of his appearance at Inside the Actors’ Studio, when asked, “If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?” part of his answer was, “To know that there’s laughter.”

If there is a heaven, or any thereafter at all, I am sure you have brought laughter there with you.

Godspeed, Robin Williams. The world is a much quieter, and sadder, place without you.

9 Responses to “May you forever be at peace, Robin.”

  1. heavenlea27 11/08/2014 at 10:40 PM #

    I just woke up to hear this news here too. I still can’t get my head around it. I have only just finished watching his show ‘The Crazy Ones’ and loved that he was back. Everything you have said here AL, I agree with. A wonderful, crazy, funny and often times over the top man, he will be someone I have grown up with and will miss greatly. To his family my condolences. NaNo NaNo, Robin 😦

    • azteclady 12/08/2014 at 10:55 PM #

      I am having a very hard time adjusting to the idea that after the movies he completed filming (three? four?) are released at the end of the year, there will be no more Robin Williams. It’s difficult to accept a world without him in it.

  2. Lori 12/08/2014 at 12:00 AM #

    I’m broken hearted. He brought so much laughter into my life and I was delighted that my daughter experienced his crazed humor thanks to Disney. I’m crying. Losing him hurts the world.

    • azteclady 12/08/2014 at 10:56 PM #

      Yes, people the world over are reeling from the loss. It’s unthinkable, and yet real.

  3. heavenlea27 12/08/2014 at 11:11 PM #

    I’ve been playing the Happy Feet song (A mi manera) a few times already this morning… It’s bringing a smile to my face but it doesn’t stop the hurt. It’s hard to believe he was only 16 years older than I am, he seemed so much older, probably because he’s been around since I was a kid. thank god for repeats of his shows and dvd’s of his movies. He may be physically gone but we have those. Doesn’t make it any easier to understand though.

    • azteclady 12/08/2014 at 11:29 PM #

      Unless you suffer from depression, and even then I think it depends on just how bad it’s been for you, it’s impossible to understand how someone–as his daughter Zelda put it–who was so loved could make the decision to end his life.

      And nothing can make it easier on those who lose a loved one to suicide–it’s a slow and tortuous path to acceptance: it’s not about those left behind, it’s about the pain of the suicide.

      I pray and pray that his family, particularly his daughter, will get help themselves to understand this.

  4. heavenlea27 12/08/2014 at 11:42 PM #

    I often wonder if I do but then I think it’s just days of sadness/hopelessness that come and go. I’ve never been to the point of actually considering suicide although it has popped up.

    Robin’s news is close to the anniversary of a relative who committed suicide so it seems to have hit a little harder. As you say, hopefully his daughter and the rest of his family can get some help to understand. Perhaps taht will come with time.

    • azteclady 12/08/2014 at 11:58 PM #

      Leah, please do not dismiss your feelings of sadness–three out of four people who suffer from clinical depression do not seek help, and I quote:

      One very important thing to keep in mind is that a good 75 percent of clinically depressed people don’t get diagnosed or treated for it, DePaulo says.

      “And most don’t come for care because they don’t think of themselves as having something they need to go to the doctor for. They figure we all have good days and bad days,” he adds. “So there is this reservoir of people out there who are clinically depressed and also having bad days on top of that and sometimes they see a suicide and it will have an effect.”

      Call someone where you are–whether you are suffering from clinical depression or just feeling sad, having someone to talk to about your feelings can’t hurt. It’s not a magic cure, but it’s something you can do for yourself and all those who love you.

  5. heavenlea27 13/08/2014 at 12:34 AM #

    Thanks AL, I will. I guess I’ve put it off for many reasons, the biggest being the fear of being told there is nothing wrong with me and to ‘suck it up’. Maybe just having someone to talk to will help.

Leave a Reply

