Karma, my ass (very angry rant)

10 Oct

I am seeing red as I type, and I don’t foresee that my state of mind will change any time soon, so you are welcome to ignore this post.

Warning: repeated cursing ahead.

First we have idiot Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella telling women NOT to ask for raises, to trust in the system.

Because the system is obviously looking out for women–that’s why we don’t have a pay gap.

Except we still fucking do–women at best get paid 78 cents for every dollar a man doing the exact same thing would get, regardless of whether she is more qualified than he is.

But, but, says the imbecile, if you don’t ask for a raise, that’s good karma, I’ll trust you.

Because Nadella’s trust is going to fucking put food on the table, pay the rent, and all the other shit women deal with.

Trust the system, my fucking ass.

Then we have this morning’s headline on nbcnews.com: “‘Heroic’ Malala shares Peace Nobel Price” (it’s no longer visible or searchable, and unfortunately, I am at work and couldn’t snap a screenshot in time)

With the fucking quotation marks.

Are you, for real, fucking KIDDING ME?

This one got me really, really, truly fucking mad because not too long ago there was this other headline–which is also now mysteriously gone from nbcnews.com–“‘Brave’ Indian woman fights off leopard’

I repeat, are you FUCKING KIDDING ME?

You know what heroism actually is? Let me tell you. From Merriam-Webster Dictionary online:

  heroic conduct especially as exhibited in fulfilling a high purpose or attaining a noble end

Heroic is in turn defined as:

a :  exhibiting or marked by courage and daring

b :  supremely noble or self-sacrificing

Self-sacrificing.

And yet, no matter what a man does, he’s a hero.

Man walking below a building catches a falling child: hero.

Man survives ebola and donates plasma so others have a better chance to survive it: hero.

Man survives accident or bombing or war: hero.

Teenage woman deliberately risks her LIFE to improve the lot of all other young women in the world? “heroic”

This is why, when assholes of either gender start talking to me about how there’s no such thing as misogyny, nor rape culture, I have to walk away more times than I’m able to thoughtfully and rationally engage.

3 Responses to “Karma, my ass (very angry rant)”

  1. Julaine 10/10/2014 at 12:12 PM #

    Bravo!

  2. Lori 10/10/2014 at 2:40 PM #

    I share your rage.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The other side of the coin | Her Hands, My Hands - 11/10/2014

    […] So yesterday I was seeing red, I was so angry. […]

Leave a Reply

