Despite appearances, not everything sucks

17 Oct

For those who have been reading this here blog for the past oh, three weeks? It may seem that indeed I’m always in a rage–or at least fairly angry on a regular basis.

Bad of me to disappoint you, but this is  not true.

In fact, again despite appearances, I’m often quite happy.

For example, the past few books I’ve reviewed have brought on the rage, but many of the books I’ve read in between have been truly awesome, very enjoyable reads. Quick, off the top of my head:

The four Ivy Years books by Sarina Bowen, all awesome, awesome, awesome. In fact, when I get around to review any of them, it’s basically going to be a squee feast *shrug*

“Frozen,” by Meljean Brook. I read this short story in installments–and you can tell just how awesome I think anything Ms Brook writes is, because I’m very much against serials. If the whole thing is not written AND published, I’m not touching it. I’ve been burned before and don’t like it, so I don’t put myself in that position often. But for Meljean Brook’s “Frozen,” I absolutely did, and boy, was I rewarded! Ms Brook sent me a review copy, and then I bought another copy, because this story? It’s just that good. I hope to post a review soon.

I’ve read and enjoyed the first three in Sarah M Anderson‘s Men of the White Sandy, even though I have some issues with the way the whole “Native American Mysticism” thing is dealt with in the books. I do hope to finish writing my thoughts, and make them coherent enough to publish, soon.

“Rock Courtship,” the second in Nalini Singh‘s self-published Rock Kiss series. I really, really liked Rock Addiction, and while I also liked “Rock Courtship” for many of the same reasons, but I don’t think it’s a story that can stand alone as well.

I am now all caught up with Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark except for Dark Skye, which I just got this week. It all started when I was trying to read something for SLWendy’s TRB Challenge for February (series catch up month). Reading No Rest for the Wicked got me to read all the other books (most of which I had in ye olde TBR Mountain Range), so yay! The TBR Challenge really works! Except that, of course, then I had to get the three books not already in my possession. I may review at least some of them at some point.

I read and really liked Elle Kennedy‘s “One Night of Sin” and One Night of Scandal, and hope to review both soon.

On the not-so-good side, though, my takeaway from these and other erotic (or even just sexier/more explicit) romances I’ve read recently is that there are no STDs, or that STDs cannot be transmitted by oral sex (hello, chlamydia! how you doin’, gonorrhea! hi there, HIV and herpes!). Apparently this is a subgenre convention I was just not aware of and will now have to adjust my suspension of disbelief accordingly. Or else, harp at this constantly–which, knowing me, it’s the way I’m gonna go, ’cause I’m curmudgeonly like that.

There are more, but of course I can’t remember them right now, though hopefully I’ll eventually get around to review them. Or at least most of them.

*

Except for a bunch of older Nora Roberts.

Not too long ago, and thanks to a heads up at the SmartBitches, I got all four of The Mackades books in my kindle app (at 99cents, who cares that I have and treasure my paper copies?). Then there was another sale, posted by Jane over at DA, for the Inn Boosboro Trilogy. Again, these are already in my shelves, but now I have them in my purse with me at all times. And there is an old copy of a very old book of hers, Local Hero, which I absolutely love.

Unfortunately, I don’t know that I’m going to be reviewing any more Nora Roberts books, or buying new books.

Why? Because she signed that letter. What’s the problem with that letter? I’ll tell you what’s the problem with that letter–no, I’ll let you Courtney Milan tell you what, exactly, is one of the problems with that letter. Look there’s a lot written about why and how amazon is teh evil, and how the poor, poor authors are its victims, while the publishers remain quiet on how their own actions have put them where they are, market-wise, so I’m not going to rehash it here. In August, Dear Author linked to this piece, go read that, then move on.

At any rate, there has been nothing coming out from Ms Roberts regarding signing that very offensive letter, so I just don’t feel comfortable buying any more of her books new–yeah, I may succumb to the fact that she’s a writer I’ve loved for many years and buy them used–let alone making happy noises online about them anymore. I know she won’t miss my puny voice, but I have to stand on my (tiny) principles here.

*

To end this ramble on a (mostly) good note…

You know all those meet-cute scenes in romances that we often think contrived? The ones where she’s at the grocery store and the cute guy approaches her with a “hey, could I ask you a question?” and flirts with her, and a few hundred pages later, there’s a HEA?

Well, I’m here to tell you that the meet cute? It can happen to anyone–because it just happened to me on Wednesday.

There I am, in the laundry detergent aisle, looking for Borax–great cleaner, disinfectant, not-bleach whitener, and it kills bugs–and I can’t find it, so I’m walking back and forth, wondering how on earth I can’t find it, since usually there are thirty boxes right there! when this really cute guy (age appropriate too, which is not as easy, given that I’m staring 50 in the face) who is also pacing the aisle asks me, “hey,could I ask you a question? do you know what borax is? do you happen to know where I could find it?”

No, I’m not kidding you.

Yes, you could have knocked me over with a feather.

What are the chances, I ask you?

(Zero, is the answer, if you were wondering)

Anyway, I answered, feeling proud I didn’t blush (or at least I hope I didn’t) or stammered. I searched a bit longer, but honestly felt flustered, so I left the aisle to continue shopping. Three minutes later I turned and there he is. He tells me, “You owe me big!” and hands me…a box of Borax!

It seems he found the only two boxes left hidden on the back of the top shelf (you know, where they store the stuff they will eventually put on the lower shelves to sell), so he decided to share the bounty with me.

If life were a romance novel–or if I weren’t an idiot who has forgotten how to effin’ flirt–here’s I would have gotten more out of a chance encounter than a box of cleaner.

Sadly, I am pretty socially inept.

*

So, how’s your life going?

9 Responses to “Despite appearances, not everything sucks”

  1. nurcat 17/10/2014 at 4:33 PM #

    I do hope that BBC America gives you the opportunity to enjoy a little series that’s just started in the UK called .. Scrotal Recall … Which, given your minor rantlet re: STD’s, I think you might like. A romantic dramedy about a chap tracking down the hapless ladies that he’s infected with chlamydia ….. it’s actually rather sweet, and sometimes cringingly funny.
    …. And you need to go back to the supermarket & hunt down the Borax hunk… ( just a suggestion)

    • azteclady 18/10/2014 at 5:14 PM #

      Thank you, nurcat.

      Alas, it’s not my regular location for that chain, but I feel I should make more of an effort to stop by more often 😀

  2. Lori 18/10/2014 at 5:03 PM #

    Nora signed that letter? Oh, that’s heartbreak right there. Just don’t tell Carolyn. Nora is her crack.

    And what fun being flirted with. Woman, you had a meet cute. Too bad it didn’t go a little further. But the possibilities makes life sweet, doesn’t it?

    • azteclady 18/10/2014 at 5:16 PM #

      She signed it, indeed.

      I was in denial–hoping at least someone of the many people who signed it would say, “hey, that text has significant changes from what I signed!” but…no such luck.

      And yes to the possibilities–ain’t hope grand?

  3. kristiej 18/10/2014 at 6:45 PM #

    I don’t really understand the fight between Amazon and Hachett except there is a law suit. But as far as I’m concerned whatever the outcome, it won’t benefit me whatsoever. I’m constantly seeing books on for great prices as ebooks on sale at Amazon from the big publisher and when I click on it, because I live in Canada, not only is the sale unavailable to me, they are often asking TWO FRIGGIN’ DOLLARS MORE FOR THE EBOOK THAN THE PRINT BOOK!! So I refuse to buy any of them. I know Amazon were supposed to have settled with many of the publishers but it seems to have only affected books sold in the US.

    And that is a real cute ‘meet cute’ story and yep – there is many a time I wish real life were a romance novel.

    And saaaayyyy – if you are looking for a great book to read…….

    • azteclady 18/10/2014 at 6:55 PM #

      *hugglepounce* KristieJ!!!!!!

      Oh my goodness, so happy to see you!

      • kristiej 18/10/2014 at 7:47 PM #

        And I’m so happy to be seen – heh, heh, heh

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “One Night of Sin” by Elle Kennedy | Her Hands, My Hands - 15/01/2015

    […] I mentioned back in October, I was very happy I did. I got the second installment, One Night of Scandal, pretty much upon […]

  2. State of things chez aztec | Her Hands, My Hands - 03/07/2015

    […] I promised myself, back in October of last year, not to buy any new books by Ms Roberts, nor to review any of the many, many novels of hers I have. […]

Leave a Reply

