Pondering the Nut’s identity (EC v DA)

28 Dec

Ellora's Cave sues Dear AuthorI’ve said before, repeatedly, that I believe that Tina Engler/Jaid Black is behind the Nut aka egg of toxic logic. Earlier, Deidre Saoirse Moen caught a writing tick that supports the notion. However, the Nut does vary the way it expresses itself enough for other observers to be less sure than I am.

I confess that I’m rarely able to immediately identify writing voice–never mind that doing so from tweets would be indeed a notable feat–and yet, my belief that TE/JB is the one tweeting those incredibly idiotic arguments, complete with the royal “we,” is unshakable.

I couldn’t really put my finger into why I am so sure of this until I saw these tweets by Courtney Milan:

Courtney Miland on PNuts identity - December 24 2014

“Such a peculiarly EC-centric view of the world”

Yes, indeed.

A lot can be faked online, but refraining from transparently evoking that EC-centric worldview requires a lot more intelligence than the Nut seems to be able to deploy.

10 Responses to “Pondering the Nut’s identity (EC v DA)”

  1. Julaine 28/12/2014 at 5:34 PM #

    No one but a principal of EC would be so invested in pNut’s ridiculous arguments. First they were “Scouts for Publisher Protection”, whatever that meant. Then they morphed into lawyer(s)/law students that had zero understanding of how the U.S. legal system worked and then they claimed to be a group of published writers (specifically mentioned published by a total of 14 publishing imprints). I call shenanigans. If this isn’t Tina or someone extremely close to her I will be flabbergasted. Anyone else would understand that this isn’t some vast conspiracy of unrelated individuals that conspired to attack poor defenseless EC. Jane Litte reported on a publishing house in turmoil by their own admissions and actions. All PNut has done is shine an unrelenting harsh light on exactly why the Cave is in free fall and raised the management up for ridicule. If they had ignored the original article (which appeared well researched and solidly grounded in facts), paid their outstanding debts, and attempted to regroup, the company may have weathered the storm. That outcome appears less likely which every additional pronouncement from Tina or the PNut.

  2. Deirdre 28/12/2014 at 7:13 PM #

    Yes, she articulated that very well. I’d initially dismissed the idea, but when the nut began discussing future legal strategy, I realized that I’d probably been wrong.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Denied: remand motion, and other bits and bobs (EC v DA) | Her Hands, My Hands - 11/01/2015

    […] said this before, but it bears repeating: should it eventually be proven than TiNut is either Tina Engler/Jaid Black or anyone working for EC in any capacity, this paragraph from the joint motion for continuance will […]

  2. On that denial to remand (EC v DA) | Her Hands, My Hands - 12/01/2015

    […] those who missed it: I believe (opinion! protected speech!) that the egg is Tina Engler. Ergo, […]

  3. Is this a troll? Why, I do believe it is! (EC v DA) | Her Hands, My Hands - 12/02/2015

    […] our lady of the trolls, one TiNut that many of my gentle readers remember for the utter absurdity of her…its…her tweets, […]

  4. So tell me, Jaid Black, why the fuck do you care? (EC v DA) | Her Hands, My Hands - 17/02/2015

    […] have TiNut telling us that she…it…she is not–I repeat,emphatically–not connected to Ellora’s Cave. No siree bop, it’s right there on their […]

  5. According to TiNut, you know who should live on… | Her Hands, My Hands - 19/02/2015

    […] is pure speculation, based on my firm opinion that TiNut is Jaid Black–if not 100% of the tweets, at least 95%–but I think that a lot of the virulence from […]

  6. A couple of things on the EC v DA suit (the Ann Jacobs update) | Her Hands, My Hands - 22/08/2015

    […] I am not the only one who thinks that PubNt was actually Tina Engler/Jaid Black, at least 95% of the […]

  7. A few not-so-brief thoughts (EC v DA) | Her Hands, My Hands - 23/10/2015

    […] means not only that we interested kibitzers will never know whether the subpoena for the identity of TiNut actually produced names; it means that not one of Ellora’s Cave authors, editors, cover artists, and […]

Leave a Reply

