Holy shit, is this for real? (Yet *another* post on entitlement)

16 Jan

My list of people whose work I’ll never try because they are assholes towards readers grows by the minute.

Which is kinda sad, because I’ve heard that some of those books are awesome.

On the other hand, there are thousands upon thousands of new books out there, many of them written and published by writer-type people who respect readers even when they disagree with them. I know. What a concept, right?

Plus my TBR pile is scary, so it’s not as if I’m going to be running out of reading material any time soon.

I have been pondering the whole dust up going around over an author doing a Kickstarter for her book. Jane at Dear Author talked about it here, and Lori poked some fun here.

(edited 3/29/15 to add: excellent piece by Jenny Trout)

(edited 4/7/15: storyfy with hard numbers and discussion)

Me? I’m just a little fed up with how some people feel entitled to my money and my time.

We have tweets like this one:

NK Jemisin - wishes

Then we have rants like this one by Raani York, and the impulse to mock her into next week is so strong–yet another Maggie Stiefvater, huh? (Christine at The Moonlight Reader answered that bullshit just beautifully, by the way.)

*

On the first issue, let me put it this way: I need to eat too, yet–amazingly, for I am wonderful and spew rainbows just by existing–I don’t get paid unless I work. Even worse, each paycheck comes after I’ve performed my job for a period of time.

And–I know this will shock all of my gentle readers–it never occurred to me to bitch about this state of affairs. I didn’t think that my employers, past or present, wanted me to live on fucking wishes while I worked.

I thought–so innocent! so naive!–that this is, you know, normal.

Ah, you’ll say, but you are not a WRITER. You do not belong to that special kind of people.

Obviously not.

Thank you for that, Universe.

*

On the second issue…

Bitch.

Please.

(any one else saddened but unsurprised that it’s been less than two months since that round?)

14 Responses to “Holy shit, is this for real? (Yet *another* post on entitlement)”

  1. Mad 16/01/2015 at 7:08 AM #

    It’s all craziness. :/

  2. Rowena 16/01/2015 at 12:25 PM #

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I had no idea that any of this was going on. I read Jane’s post and thought it was great. It helped me understand just what the heck Kickstarter is. Now I’m off to read those articles linked in your post.

  3. Rowena 16/01/2015 at 12:43 PM #

    OMG, I just found two new blogs to follow. Thanks for the tip, AL!

  4. Lori 17/01/2015 at 1:03 AM #

    Ms. York’s post is gone. I wonder why.

    • azteclady 17/01/2015 at 1:13 AM #

      I do feel a little bad, because I’m certain she got piled on.

      On the other hand…wasn’t she a reader before she started writing for publication?

      If she was, couldn’t she see what she was doing while writing that?

      And if she wasn’t…well, I wish it were a requirement. Just like I wish that some of the people who want to take advantage of the romance genre profitability would be, you know, readers of romance.

  5. heavenlea27 17/01/2015 at 4:24 AM #

    Read the post from Christine and loved it! Authors asking for only 4 or 5 star reviews? Oh puhlease! The only way to ensure that is to have friends and family spam the review section with comments about how fabulous the work is, even if it’s utter shite. Then again, if they were real friends, they wouldn’t.

    It would be lovely to be paid to write. Do you think it would be fair to ask to be paid to read? They are asking me to put pen to paper (fingers to keys) in order to write that review, so fair’s fair. I mean, I can’t live on the carer’s pension I have and of course my ‘fucking wishes’ never come true so that’s out as well…

    Ya know, if it’s good enough for some cops/firemen/servicemen etc to get a second job so they can eat and support families, what’s wrong with these lazy arse writers? Don’t they realize they have to work at it until they are good enough to have it as a stand alone career, and even then have a back up plan? Or do they think they are going to be lauded as the next Tolkien right off the bat?

    Aside from Lori, my stuff is only read by me (pay up Lori, I need to get some milk for the week… LMAO). I do it for fun so I guess I have no valid input to the pay thing but hell’s bells, even I can see that the whole kickstarter thing is a joke. Way to put off readers before you earn them dude/s!

    • azteclady 17/01/2015 at 2:19 PM #

      I love my new job, but after I finally dropped the job I hated, things happened, and now I have to get another second job to pay some large bills.

      Should I ask writers to fund me, since I write reviews?

      *snort*

      For the record, someone asked that question, I believe over at the Dear Author thread, saying, “what do you think would be authors’ reaction if book bloggers asked them for monetary help with hosting costs?”

  6. Bona 17/01/2015 at 2:13 PM #

    Now and then comes this topic of ‘writers needing to receive money beforehand in order to write’. I always think what you’ve written here -everybody receives his/her salary after they’ve worked.
    Do you want to eat? Then you have to work, as anybody else.
    Even literary authors who have a great artistic reputation and might win a Nobel prize in the future have to work. They usually have additional income from other sources. They work in universities or magazines or newspapers or giving lectures. I personally know some of them who are public servants in matter who are not related to books and publishing.
    This kind of crowdfunding for writers is an option, of course, but don’t get angry if you don’t get the money you expected.
    I love books & reading but I’d never support a writer. If I have money to spare, it goes to Non-government organizations that do real things for real people who have real problems.

    • azteclady 17/01/2015 at 2:21 PM #

      This kind of crowdfunding for writers is an option, of course, but don’t get angry if you don’t get the money you expected.

      And don’t get angry if people ask questions about the cause you want them to donate money to–particularly if that cause is your writing.

      I mean, people ask questions when donating to charities all the time, because fraud does happen. Should we pretend every person who sets up a crowd sourcing campaign calling him/herself a writer is incapable of doing the same? If so, why?

      • Deirdre 19/02/2015 at 7:00 PM #

        I don’t mind people asking every now and then, so long as it’s in a way that I can ignore.

        Shifting topic somewhat, I was actually surprised at the amount of revenue DA mentioned in one of her filings in the EC case. I could live on that if that were all profit.

  7. azteclady 19/02/2015 at 7:25 PM #

    Ms Deirdre, so was I, but then, I imagine there’s quite a bit of an expense in running the site. I have no idea how much the hosting and back end maintenance costs, but given the amount of traffic, it can’t be cheap.

    At this point, though, I think that even at reduced rates from Randazza, most if not all of the money donated to the legal defense fund has been spent. My hope is that EC and the rest behave so egregiously, they cause the judge to throw all the books at them.

    If memory serves, Randazza is pretty aggressive about trying to get lawyer fees from SLAPP filing asshats, but I may be wrong.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. According to TiNut, you know who should live on… | Her Hands, My Hands - 19/02/2015

    […] the respect of an anonymous twitter account (if not “fucking wishes”)? […]

Leave a Reply

