Saying goodbye again.

27 Jan

It is with a very heavy heart that I said goodbye to another one of my beautiful and loved pets yesterday.

As my nephew was trying to pack

As my nephew was trying to pack

Candy came to live with us when she was just shy of three months old, in early November 1997. She was a small grey tabby with a large presence. The first of all our pets, she knew everyone else–humans included–were interlopers, and was never shy in letting them know when they trespassed into her personal space.

Last November she became blind. As best as we could figure it out, she fell from the kitchen counter while we were out and her retinas detached. Unfortunately, because she was well over 17 years old, there was little that could be done even if I could have afforded it.

She seemed to be doing well despite the blindness though, with the same great appetite and all systems go, keeping Pounce and any visiting humans in check. Since she had been such a healthy cat for so long, I had hopes she would continue doing as well for a good long time. Alas, it was not to be. When I came home from work yesterday I found her laying next to her bed.

I have many fond memories of Candy. For such a small cat–barely eight pounds fully grown–she had such an outsized personality.

~ * ~

She was very vocal and very grumpy from a very early age, and I seemed to be the only human whom she respected–at least, I’m the only one she never scratched or bit to show dominance. Even my children knew better than to mess with her, even in play.

Hell, my six foot tall, 180 lbs brother knew better than to try to get Candy out of his room when he visited–he would ask me to get her out instead.

It is not that she was vicious, mind you, she just had no patience for…anyone, really.

With one regrettable exception in the summer of 1998, Candy spent all her life inside the house. Fortunately, she was never particularly curious about anything going on outside. She was also the only cat I’ve had who was never destructive. Drapes? cords? Christmas tree? ornaments? lights? *yawn*

On the other hand, Candy had enough people and pets to keep in check (aka, as far away from herself as possible) to keep herself busy all day. She stood toe to toe with the other dominant personality in the house, Laika, my 140lbs German Shepherd mix rescue, until they reached an state of armed peace.

Candy put the fear of cat in Alana, my 90lbs yellow Lab. All the other cats in the house (and there were more than I would have liked, but I can’t seem to be able to say no when people tell me, “it’s you or the shelter/street”) wisely deferred to Candy. All but Shadow, that is, who was much too self assured and loving to care about Candy’s curmudgeonly ways.

And now that both of them are gone, I suspect things will go back to how they were here. Tiny Candy will growl and Shadow, three times her size, will yawn and curl up to sleep, supremely unconcerned. Both will believe they won, and there will be quiet.

~ * ~

Go in peace, my beloved, tiny demon cat. We miss you.

Nosing at my phone as I took her picture

Nosing at my phone as I took her picture

~ * ~

When I told her about Candy’s passing, my daughter texted me this:

She was the best first pet ever–because she was such a grumpy, terrifying, tiny, beautiful, one-person cat who didn’t take shit from anyone. I really love her and I can’t believe she’s not going to be around anymore, growling at everyone and being adorable.

Always alpha, even when she started losing her sight. I love that she hated everyone but always loved you, and pretty much only let you pet her. She was such a unique cat, strong-willed to the bone, and refused to back down even when she had to share “her house” with a bunch of other pets.

This, exactly.

10 Responses to “Saying goodbye again.”

  1. Rowena 27/01/2015 at 12:34 PM #

    Awww, I’m so sorry to hear about your cat, tiny demon cat and all. 🙂 Big hugs AL!

    • azteclady 27/01/2015 at 7:24 PM #

      Thank you, Rowena.

      It is always hard to lose a pet, but some of them are closer to one’s heart. Candy was always my cat–or I was her person–and she kept me company through many a dark time over the years.

      Although Pounce is here with me, it’s going to feel lonely around here for a good long while.

  2. heavenlea27 27/01/2015 at 8:34 PM #

    So sorry AL for your loss. As someone who only just lost her own puppy Pippin, I can fully relate to how you are feeling now. They do take a space in your heart don’t they? Candy sounds like a holy nightmare (well, only to those she didn’t like lol) who at least had the good taste to love you and be your cat. She will be sorely missed no doubt. Big hugs from me to you xx

    • azteclady 27/01/2015 at 9:22 PM #

      Oh dear, she totally was a nightmare…for everyone else. And hugs back to you. Here’s sending all the good wishes your way, for Pippin.

  3. kaetrin 27/01/2015 at 10:58 PM #

    It’s so hard to lose a beloved pet. And she was well loved indeed. Hugs.

  4. SuperWendy 28/01/2015 at 1:14 PM #

    And look how sweet and tiny she is! Although I love that look on her face in that picture. It says, “What do you think you are doing strange human?”

    I’m sorry for your loss. To just have her slip away quietly – a comfort at least that you know she wasn’t in pain and suffering.

    • azteclady 28/01/2015 at 1:57 PM #

      I always feel that I should have done more, but yes, I hope she didn’t suffer much.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decisions, decisions…(aka “and then there were none.”) | Her Hands, My Hands - 05/03/2015

    […] I inherited Candy from my ex (long story, don’t ask) in December 1997, and she ruled the roost until she died in late January. […]

Leave a Reply

