Remember that “book review Taliban” tweet?

30 Jan

(Edit at the end of the post)

Anyone on twitter willing to share this, please do feel free.

A while back I had bought the digital edition of Kathleen Eagle’s This Time Forever because Willaful reviewed it over at Karen’s and said it was very good.

I have only read a couple of Ms Eagle’s books, and while I liked one a lot, the other was sorta problematic for me. So I saw this one, remembered how much Willaful sang its praises, and one-clicked it.

Weeks go by, and then I find it while scrolling down for something to read.

Then I open the file and see that this version is published by Bell Bridge Books.

Guess who owns that publisher?

Deborah Smith, she of the “book review Taliban” slur.

Deborah Smith - book review Taliban(You can read more of Deborah Smith’s tweets during the #HaleNo and Blogger Blackout dêbacle at Jenny Trout’s blog here.)

So while I feel for Ms Eagle, I returned the book, and left a pretty detailed comment explaining why exactly I will never buy books by Bell Bridge Books, via amazon or elsewhere.

If I can help it, so help me gog, not one penny of my hard earned money will ever make it into Deborah Smith’s pockets.

Not. One. Fucking. Penny.

As far as Ms Eagle is concerned, her publisher has lost her at least one backlist reader.

Once upon a time, I would have turned to my used book store instead, but these days I try not to buy more print books until I make a sizable dent on the print side of Mount TBR. Any and all backlists? Yeah, those get bought digital or not at all.

After Deborah Smith once more¹ behaved like a dick, any backlists put out by Bell Bridge Books?

Don’t get bought at all.

If Bell Bridge Books is Ms Eagle’s publisher for current and/or future work?

Well, more sales lost.

~*~

In case Deborah Smith should wander by and read this, and then go off to wank about how she has the right to her opinions and free speech and butthurt, blah blah:

Deborah Smith can show her ass in public/twitter/blog comments, etc., and say what she truly thinks of the very readers who buy her books, who buy the books of authors she publishes through Bell Bridge Books, the same readers who put money in her pockets.

I can, in my own space, state my reaction to those comments, and do whatever the hell I want with my own money.

~ * ~

¹ Deborah Smith called two fellow romance authors “pedophile-luring” one year. The next, she was one of the more vocal defenders of plagiarist Cassie Edwards and one of the most vitriolic attackers of the SmartBitches, when they broke the story–back in 2008. She’s been a dick occasionally since, but this last bullshit has made me want to make my line in the sand very public indeed.

~ * ~

Edited to add: Belle Books is also Bell Bridge Books.

7 Responses to “Remember that “book review Taliban” tweet?”

  1. willaful 31/01/2015 at 3:40 AM #

    It’s really depressing. Not only does Bell Bridge publish lovely books, but I used to like Smith’s books too. I try to separate the work and the artist but in this case…

    • azteclady 31/01/2015 at 11:43 AM #

      Exactly

      What pisses me off the most is that Deborah Smith knows that when she shows her ass in public like this, she represents not only herself the author, but her company, and all the authors under contract with Bell Bridge Books.

      Yet, year after year, she continues to be a dick.

  2. andarae 31/01/2015 at 7:19 PM #

    I’m new to romance, so good to have this info. Bell Bridge now goes on the “Nope, Nope” pile with EC.

    • azteclady 01/02/2015 at 3:03 PM #

      Welcome to the ranks of romance readers everywhere!

      We are legion and becoming more outspoken by the minute.

      As far as this goes, it’s sad because there are good books put out by both publishing companies (though in EC’s case, most of them are older titles), but fortunately for a new romance reader, there are lots and lots and lots of great books published elsewhere.

      Best of luck in your reading!

  3. Rowena 02/02/2015 at 5:04 PM #

    I’m right there with you. No more Bell Bridge or DS books for me, thank you very much.

    • azteclady 02/02/2015 at 7:00 PM #

      I just realized that Deborah Smith is also Belle Books. I’ll edit the post to add that information, for those who care.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are we having fun yet this year? | Her Hands, My Hands - 24/03/2015

    […] * Despite what Deborah “review Taliban” Smith may think, I’m aware my opinions are mine–if others agree with me, it’s […]

Leave a Reply

