Feminism: this is why it is not just needed, but essential

5 Feb

Generally speaking, I don’t watch sports. Particularly speaking, considering what has come out in recent years about NFL’s players behaviour toward women, I don’t watch football at all.

I do tend to watch the Super Bowl ads online (awwwww, Budweiser ads).

This year, this ad stopped me cold:

Chilling, indeed.

The thing that made me so furious I could barely type?

When I made the mistake–and it’s always a mistake–to look at the comments on youtube. The third and fourth top comments? Let me show you:

poor men

Yes, I know that men are also victims of domestic and sexual violence, and I also know that it’s grossly under reported. I also know that the immense majority–by orders of magnitude–of people who die as a direct result of domestic violence are women, followed by children.

So no, I do not think that the point of view should be changed to one of a male–we already have everything else from a male point of view, and that, you fuckhead, is precisely the point.

2 Responses to “Feminism: this is why it is not just needed, but essential”

  1. Lori 05/02/2015 at 7:10 PM #

    Violence against men by women is a straw-man defense. And the men who want to turn it into anti-men jargon are just ineffectively hiding their own anti-women beliefs.

    Great commercial.

    • azteclady 05/02/2015 at 7:26 PM #

      Yes, but it’s more than that, I think.

      It is very hard to look to one’s circumstances and willingly accept one’s privilege–the first instinct is to excuse it somehow. Because whether or not one individually abuses that privilege, it’s *there.*

      Admitting how unfair that privilege is, can make a person feel bad about herself–again, independently of whether or not one ever consciously used that privilege.

Leave a Reply

