Firefly, crowdfunding, the power of nostalgia, and quiet panic.

15 Mar

First, the panic. I have not found anything to read that matches (even folding, twisting, or pulling inside out) the theme of this month’s TBR Challenge. Oh I’m sure on Wednesday evening I’ll find a dozen books that fit, but right now? Not. A. One.

Shoot me now.

Of course, while panicking, the best course of action is to procrastinate. And what better way to do it than to watch an old TV show favorite?

I actually watched most of Firefly as it aired originally, and cried foul (for years) at FOX for its untimely cancellation. *dusts browncoat off* Yes, those dartardly stupid FOX executives.

I hope that the remake craze never touches Firefly, but I feel confident that if it does, a rain of pestilence will kill the project before it comes to disgusting, foul, unbearable reality.

A few days ago I was made aware that Alan Tudyk and Nathan Fillion have set up a crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo. The goal? A Web series that basically pokes fun at reality. Here’s the plug for the series:

(You can be part of the whole thing–go here and drop some money)

At any rate, in a matter of 24hrs the campaign pretty much smashed all sorts of crowdfunding records, and it shows to signs of slowing down. They still have 28 days to go, and are at over 1,775,000.00. Yes, you read all the zeroes correctly. In three days, they are closing in on two million dollars to fund a webseries with ten minute episodes.

And here’s the teaser they’ve released so far:

 

I’m a greedy little something or other, so I’ll be looking forward to whenever they release this on DVD. I will have to own it, obviously.

7 Responses to “Firefly, crowdfunding, the power of nostalgia, and quiet panic.”

  1. pooks 15/03/2015 at 9:23 AM #

    That TBR reminds me of a series that I stopped short on, even though it’s stunning and leaves me breathless. I think I’m just afraid of a world where I have no new Francis Lymond books to read… Only reason I can think of that I haven’t gobbled the last book just as I gobbled all the earlier ones. It’s certainly not because anything was lacking, or the series slowed down.

    • azteclady 15/03/2015 at 8:19 PM #

      Oh I wish it was something like that that is making so difficult to find something appropriate for the TBR Challenge–at least I could be assured of a great read!

  2. willaful 15/03/2015 at 1:21 PM #

    You seriously have NO series that you aren’t caught up with? *stares in awe*. But it’s okay — the themes are not mandatory! Start a new series, or just read something random from your TBR, no one will point and mock. 😉

    • azteclady 15/03/2015 at 3:09 PM #

      None that a) are in the TBR and b) that I can think of.

      I know I have a few books in the middle of series and I looked at those, thinking I might stretch the them to suit theme but couldn’t get into any of them–probably because I usually have fits if I don’t read things in order.

      So yeah, I’ll probably end up just grabbing whatever.

      Soon.

      Like, now.

      • SuperWendy 16/03/2015 at 11:59 AM #

        My problem with this month’s theme is I have a wealth of options. I swear my TBR is where all Third Book In Trilogy stories go to die. I could think of three off the top of my head that fit that scenario – and that was without dumpster-diving waist deep in the TBR!

        Inevitably I loved Book One, was ho-hum on Book Two, and there sits Book Three. Languishing in my TBR because the ho-hum is more recently lodged in my memory than the LOVE of the first book.

        Sigh.

        But yeah, seriously. You should totally just read off theme. I was tempted to myself, but as “hostess” I try to stick with themes as much as possible.

      • azteclady 16/03/2015 at 12:40 PM #

        Whatever I do, it’ll have to be decided tonight–I refuse to be late or miss a month this year! *picture a determined-looking az here*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s In His Kiss, by Julia Quinn | Her Hands, My Hands - 18/03/2015

    […] were a couple of days worth of panic involved, but I managed to find one book that fit the theme for this month’s TBR […]

Leave a Reply

