To hell in a handbasket

4 Apr

Just over nine years ago, Bill Napoli of South Dakota make this comment about what could be considered an acceptable exception to that state’s utterly draconian abortion law:

A real-life description to me would be a rape victim, brutally raped, savaged. The girl was a virgin. She was religious. She planned on saving her virginity until she was married. She was brutalized and raped, sodomized as bad as you can possibly make it, and is impregnated. I mean, that girl could be so messed up, physically and psychologically, that carrying that child could very well threaten her life.

Candy Tan, then one of the two SmartBitches, had a very strong reaction. With the power of the Bitchery united in outrage, Bill Napoli was Goggle-bombed and his name was infamously added to the Urban Dictionary as a definition for utterly violent rape.

Unfortunately, that and other protests had no effect on either legislators or legislation. Under South Dakota law, life starts at conception, and there’s pending legislation that could make abortion as early as seven weeks, murder.

Then, we have Indiana trying women for falling down the stairs while pregnant; detaining a woman for over a year for attempted suicide that resulted in fetal death, and later convicting another woman of both infanticide by neglect of a dependent, and feticide for, supposedly, trying to abort her baby. Never mind that no abortifacient drugs were found in her system, who needs facts, right? Let’s make some sweeping ethnic and racial generalization, invoke the sanctity of life, and condemn young women to at least twenty years in prison.

Some progress has been made in this country during this decade when it comes to the rights of women, sadly it’s all been made by the people against women having any rights.

*

Some important links found buried in the comment thread at the SmartBitches post:

The Only Moral Abortion Is My Abortion

The Postmodern Courtesan Parody (a web.archive.org link)

Molly Ivins: South Dakota’s Stand

Anyone reading this who remembers the time when SmartBitches was the place Janet/Robin Reader commented the most? Ah, the days of yore!

2 Responses to “To hell in a handbasket”

  1. Deirdre 04/04/2015 at 7:18 AM #

    I’ve been fairly open that an abortion saved my life. I had lost 27 pounds due to hyperemesis gravidarum. Toward the end, I couldn’t even think about drinking water without throwing up.

    After my abortion, I had to sit in the waiting room for a couple of hours, then was released to my partner. He wanted to know what I wanted to do. The hormone levels had already begun to shift. For the first time in three weeks, I was able to keep a full meal down. I felt like I’d gotten rid of a deadly parasite.

    My experience with pregnancy was so awful that I can’t enjoy other people being happy about their pregnancy. I can only tell them, “Congratulations, but I’d rather not hear details.” I’ll buy gifts for showers, but I can’t attend them. It’s literally 20-30 points higher blood pressure if I’m left in a waiting room where people are discussing pregnancy.

    I really wish I could transplant my experiences onto these people, then make them live with what they’d wish to do to people like me.

  2. Lori 04/04/2015 at 12:27 PM #

    That Napoli comment is so hateful that it makes my blood run cold. Anyone with that kind of mind-set should be watched carefully by mental health professionals because there’s a serious lack of empathy there.

Leave a Reply

