Why the fuck do people do this?

16 Apr

Part of my current job involves processing literally hundreds of pieces of mail every week–anywhere from three to four hundred, occasionally more.

This activity can be quite funny–some of the name/address combinations are laughing out loud worthy, for example. Some of the things enclosed are mind blogging and baffling and hilarious to the nth degree.

And some of them make me wonder which universe the sender lives in.

How does anyone consider it okay to send unsolicited religious and/or political propaganda to a business? More over, a business they are dealing with professionally?

Then there’s the people who leave their religious crap wedged on my door three times a week–despite the fairly large sign I have posted, stating clearly that my soul is my business, thank you so very much.

I am not talking about their right to speech in public areas–my front door, or the office I work at, are not public spaces, so these people are intruding upon other people’s privacy.

I am often tempted to open the door to the assholes and ask them for their address, so I can go knocking on their doors at dinner time, or midnight, or whenever the fuck I please, to preach at them the wonders of freedom from religion.

Then we have all the many and varied non-apologies that go, “I apologize if anyone was offended.”

Seriously? If anyone was offended?

You realize, you douche, that you would not be apologizing at all if no one was offended, right?

How fucking hard is it to say, “I apologize to anyone/all of you whom I offended with my words/my actions.”

Ah but saying that means accepting that we fucked up, and dog forbid we admit such a thing to ourselves, let alone out loud, to others. Who needs honesty, right?

3 Responses to “Why the fuck do people do this?”

  1. Lori 16/04/2015 at 12:25 PM #

    Ah, bless you. *snort*

    • azteclady 16/04/2015 at 12:42 PM #

      Pffft!

      (meanie!)

    • azteclady 17/04/2015 at 12:11 PM #

      The thing about apologies: I’m going to quote a chunk from Johnny Manziel’s statement about his rehab stay, as a GREAT example of someone who is actually apologizing (versus, you know, the “sorry I got caught” or the “sorry you feel offended” BS that gets shoveled out all too often by people who have behaved like assholes).

      I owe private apologies to a lot of people that I disappointed but a very public one to the Browns organization and the fans that I let down.

      I take full responsibility for my actions and it’s my intention to work very hard to regain everyone’s trust and respect. I understand that will take time and will only happen through what I do and not what I say.

Leave a Reply

