Gone fishing (or something)

20 May

I may have mentioned before that my mother turns eighty tomorrow, and by all I hear, she’s fairly healthy and hearty.

A major milestone, the only excuse for all five of her children not to be there would probably be dismemberment…and maybe even that wouldn’t fly.

So I’ve given the poor credit card a work out (we are both still sobbing), and I’m leaving this morning. I have no idea whether I’ll have internet access or not–I come by my Luddite tendencies honestly, after all, though my brothers offer me some hope there. Obviously, as you are reading this on the third wednesday of the month, no TBR Challenge review for me right now–I will try to catch up when I get back.

I’m also late with the review of Heart of Obsidian, for my Psy/Changeling review quest.¹ Talk about a difficult book to review! At least, if you don’t want to spoil the hell out of the story, which I really don’t.

Los que me llevoRemember this? (click on the image to embiggen)

Here, let me explain.

The image to the right is all the books I’ve collected in recent months to take to my sister. At the very top of the image there are a handful that, unbeknownst to me, she already owns, so those are staying and eventually making their way to another used book store.

Oh, and the Serenity script is also mine, all mine, my preciousssssss.

The rest? Well, now…

Perhaps it’s better if I show you.

Los que se quedaronTo the left, what I couldn’t cram in the stingy fifty pound suitcase and thirty pound carry on I’m allowed. I’m taking approximately 80 pounds of books–151 books, give or take one–in lieu of things like oh, clothes or shoes. I’m going to look homeless at my mother’s 80th birthday party, but hey, it’s just my siblings and their families. They have known me for almost half a century, so if they are not used to my quirks by now…

Anyway.

Wish me luck–in theory, there’s no customs restriction on used books, but considering the sheer number of them… This is also the first time I leave the country in five and a half years, and only the second time since I got my permanent residency, so I’m  also (probably stupidly) more than just a tad nervous about the return trip. Seriously, wish me luck–and I’ll see you on the other side.

*

¹ Sounds more impressive than it is; I’m just trying to catch up in my reviews before Shards of Hope, the fourteenth book, comes out on June 2nd.

17 Responses to “Gone fishing (or something)”

  1. Bona 20/05/2015 at 10:51 AM #

    I wish you luck. Enjoy yourself and the company of your family. You have really impressed me with your TBR pile (well, piles I think) and also the sheer amount of books you travel with. Amazing.

    • azteclady 20/05/2015 at 9:01 PM #

      It’s scary, isn’t it? I am very happy to report that I arrived–with all the books!

      To celebrate, I ate a MANGO!!! (anyone who’s read Trade Me, got that)

  2. Erin Burns 20/05/2015 at 11:54 AM #

    Happy birthday to your mom. And enjoy your trip!

    • azteclady 25/05/2015 at 6:32 PM #

      Oh man, Erin, thank you so much–my apologies, I don’t know how I missed your comment.

      • Erin Burns 25/05/2015 at 6:35 PM #

        No problem, it was a bit of a shock to discover I was not in fact the center of your universe 😉 but I’m recovered now. I’m glad your trip was great!

      • azteclady 25/05/2015 at 6:37 PM #

        Will you forgive me if I point out I was leaving on a trip and was more than a wee bit distracted?

        (It was good, it really was!)

  3. SuperWendy 20/05/2015 at 4:20 PM #

    Safe travels! Are any of your sibling wear roughly the same sizes you do? Because I totally would not be above stealing clothes from the 🙂

    • SuperWendy 20/05/2015 at 4:22 PM #

      I cannot type. Or apparently proof-read. It might be time for more caffeine.

      • azteclady 20/05/2015 at 9:05 PM #

        Oh no need for clothes–I should show you guys my actual “luggage.” I think you would get a kick out of it.

  4. bamaclm 20/05/2015 at 7:50 PM #

    Hope you got all your books there. And Happy Birthday to your mom. 🙂

    • azteclady 20/05/2015 at 9:09 PM #

      Thank you! And yes, all the books made it.

  5. Lori 20/05/2015 at 9:41 PM #

    Enjoy your family and celebrations!

    • azteclady 20/05/2015 at 11:03 PM #

      Thank you! I’m happy to report that my mother is as healthy as advertised.

      My sister took all her books home tonight–I wonder if she’ll have the self-control not to tear into at least one of them tonight. (Hint: I wouldn’t bet on it.)

  6. kristiej 20/05/2015 at 11:26 PM #

    Enjoy your family time. We love them more than all get out yet they drive us bonkers at the same time.

    • azteclady 22/05/2015 at 1:29 AM #

      Oh yes, yes to both–my dear sister had the gall to complain that the books were too heavy for her to drag (the suitcase has wheels, mind you) from her car to the elevator to her apartment. I had to point out that, what with weight restrictions on luggage, I actually carried about thirty pounds all over two airports in a duffle bag hanging from my shoulder, NO wheels.

      But it’s great to see them all, regardless; we even managed to have lunch, the five of us (no spouses or kids) with my mother, and there were no punches thrown 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. After the Night, by Linda Howard | Her Hands, My Hands - 27/05/2015

    […] some of you know, I took a very quick trip home last week. While the occasion was my mother’s 80th birthday, the lion’s share of […]

  2. Cry No More, by Linda Howard | Her Hands, My Hands - 10/06/2015

    […] Because I do this, I also have a mmpb copy of the book right now; the back cover blurb is a condensed, Díaz-less […]

Leave a Reply

