I’m back!

26 May

Didja miss me?

Yes, I know it was not even six full days, but still!

First things first: thanks for all the good wishes; my mother had a great time (and so did I, petty annoyances aside).

We spend my mother’s actual birthday in Mexico City. For the first time in thirty years or so, the five of us had lunch with my mother (in the middle of the week, too) without offspring or spouses, on the day–and there’s a selfie somewhere as proof. (None of my brothers is a Luddite.)

In the evening we attended mass in her honor (and I spent the whole service hoping lighting wouldn’t strike the church, heathen that I am). We even huddled in the sidewalk right outside the church for another selfie–near impossible events should be properly documented, after all.

As no lighting struck, no punches were thrown, and my mother got to see all five of her errant offspring together, twice no less, on her birthday, I’ll call that a success.

On Friday around midday we drove with my sister to Tequesquitengo, a small town near the lake of the same name, where my family (on my father’s side) has owned a house for close to seventy years. While one of my brothers owns a share and visits several times a year, I hadn’t been to the house since before I got married (thirty two years, give or take a couple of years).

The rest of the party dribbled in during the late hours on Friday and early Saturday. Once the whole gang was there (only eighteen, as my two offspring and one of my brothers’ couldn’t make it), we had an amazing meal¹ al fresco on a terrace by the lake. After, we sat around the table talking and laughing. Two of my brothers and some of their kids (all over 20, yikes!) played volleyball on the grass for about an hour, with frequent trips to rescue the ball from the lake.

We sat and talked and reminisced, and laughed ourselves silly right until dinner time, at which point we moved the party indoors (the mosquitoes were fierce, by the by), and had dinner. Which, of course, was followed by more conversation and laughter and reminiscing, right on until bed time–around midnight.

We drove back to the city on Sunday around two in the afternoon, but that was more than enough: I am sunburned to hell and back.² I literally whimpered in pain while putting on my bra for the drive back; Sunday evening was misery; and running around airports yesterday with a duffle on my shoulder was anything but fun.

On the plus side, I had no trouble with immigration (all that worry, wasted!).

Once again, thank you all for your kind words and wishes.

*

¹ Other than my family, the only other thing I truly miss about Mexico is the food, glorious food. If I hadn’t been afraid of making myself sick, I would have easily eaten three times as much what I did eat. Cecina de res asada, fresh avocado, frijoles de olla, salsa casera, mangoes from the tree, agua de jamaica, fresh tortillas…*happy sigh*

² I’m usually whiter than white; when I was a kid, one of my brothers used to say I was so white, I was bioluminescent and glowed in the dark. Right now I’m so red, I’m literally hot to the touch. I tried to get a selfie of that, but I really haven’t gotten the hang of that yet.

4 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. SuperWendy 26/05/2015 at 11:57 AM #

    Welcome back! Glad to hear you avoided all immigration/travel hassles.

    I am the whitest white girl….ever. As in, outside for more than 10 minutes? Time to slather on SPF 500. So I feel your pain.

    I used to think I didn’t like avocado – and then I moved to the west coast. Turns out I just thought I hated avocado because I grew up in the Midwest and…..yeah. Next to impossible to find a decent avocado in that part of the world. It’s a happy day at work when someone brings in avocados from the tree in their front yard 🙂

    • azteclady 26/05/2015 at 12:33 PM #

      Thank you, miss Wendy!

      Avocados: Exactly! Those mangoes, right off the tree? It’s a wonder I didn’t make myself sick, to be honest.

  2. Erin Burns 26/05/2015 at 6:46 PM #

    Sounds like a fabulous trip. A damn your taunting me with avacados. I miss them, but since my latex allergy developed, avocados and bananas are permanantly in my no go list.

    • azteclady 26/05/2015 at 7:00 PM #

      Oh my goodness, Erin, that sucks!

      (It was a wonderful, wonderful trip, thank you!)

Leave a Reply

