State of things chez aztec

3 Jul

Those of you who check this place regularly may have noticed that I have been…well, mostly absent, for the past few weeks.

Without going into detail, life is sucking out loud at the moment.

Among other things, I’m in the midst of the worst reading slump I remember–ever.

I have not read anything new since the last TBR Challenge book I reviewed, Boots & Bagdes, sometime mid-May. As if that wasn’t bad enough, I haven’t been able to read anything–at all–since mid-June.

For someone who usually reads four to five books a week, this has been hell.

In desperation, I looked up audiobooks.

This signals true desperation for me, because as a rule I don’t enjoy them–sometimes is the narrator’s voice, sometimes the emphasis is not where I think it should be, etc.

Most often, though, is that I simply lose track of the action, and end up listening to the same passage several times. Which pisses me off.

To avoid being any more pissed off than I already am, I looked into re-reads. The upside is that I found that the In Death books, narrated by Susan Ericksen, are quite excellent.

I listened to a half dozen or so in the past ten days, and finally today I managed to read an actual, honest to goodness book: almost four hundred pages, hardcover edition, Celebrity in Death. And, glory hallelluiah! I enjoyed it so much, I started composing a review.

Unfortunately, said review will never be written, let alone published.

I promised myself, back in October of last year, not to buy any new books by Ms Roberts, nor to review any of the many, many novels of hers I have.

I definitely have enough sins on my conscience that a small one more or less would probably make no difference, but I’m sticking to my guns on this one–as much as it pains me.

Still, with any luck, the reading slump from hell is broken, and I may be able to start reading and reviewing again. And perhaps that will lead to some actual blogging around here.

Here’s hoping.

16 Responses to “State of things chez aztec”

  1. fiveacres 03/07/2015 at 10:53 AM #

    I hope your life improves soon. I enjoy your reviews.

  2. Mad 03/07/2015 at 11:09 AM #

    I have also been in a horrible reading slump. Have been since the end of February but I finally see the light at the end of the tunnel, I’ve read 3 books in the last 3 days so hopefully it’s moved on for now. I was in no mood to read at all. Just did a lot of TV/movie watching during that time.

    • azteclady 06/07/2015 at 12:22 PM #

      Yay for you being over your reading slump–which was so much longer than mine has been (so far). I hope to see you around a bit more :coughyourblogcough: 😉

  3. Lori 03/07/2015 at 3:29 PM #

    Are you possibly just needing a switch up? Try a new genre? Or is life just sucking it out?

    Sorry if it’s the latter since I know you’ve had enough clouds and can use some sunny days.

    • azteclady 06/07/2015 at 12:24 PM #

      (((Lori))) Thank you–unfortunately, it’s not what I’m trying to read, it’s that I just can’t seem to concentrate on anything, because life has sucked more than a bit recently.

  4. Bona 04/07/2015 at 4:10 AM #

    I’m sorry you’re not in a good personal moment, I’d like to say something helpful, but I’m not very good at it.
    I think it’s great you stand on your principles not reviewing NR anymore. Perhaps it’s because I’ve got my own silly boycotts that my children usually laugh at, but they are important for me, and I think I give them a lesson in life -try to be consistent with your own ideas, even if it’s just you who support that.
    I’m lucky enough not to suffer reading slumps. But sometimes I get bored of reading the same genre all the time, so I’m always mixing Literature and genres. For instance, now I’m reading more non fiction and historical novels than romance novels. So perhaps you could try a different genre, something out of your comfort zone.

    • azteclady 06/07/2015 at 12:27 PM #

      Thank you, Bona; it’s been harder than I thought not to review Ms Roberts’ books, because I like sooooo many of them. She’s one of my ‘comfort authors’ (as KristieJ would say), after all.

      On the other hand, if I don’t stand for my own beliefs, how can I expect anyone else to stand by theirs?

      Regarding the slump: as I told Lori above, it’s not the reading material as much as it is reading itself. Ah well, this too shall pass, right?

  5. SuperWendy 08/07/2015 at 11:44 AM #

    I hear you. This has been the Year Of The Slump. I’m still clawing my way out of mine. It’s not that I’m reading “bad” books (I’ve read a handful of A’s actually!). It’s just I don’t feel like reading. Anything. Some of it was tied to BlogLand drama (sigh), but a decent chunk of it has been tied to Real Life (nothing horrible – but while new job is good, it’s a bit more demanding on my time and Wendy, she is tired).

    Audiobooks have helped a lot – although outside of Nora I just can’t seem to do romance on audio (I’m well aware I read erotic romance but something about a narrator reading me even the tamest of sex scenes? Ew). But I’ve branched out – kept up with mystery/suspense, done some non-fiction, even Anne of Green Gables 😉 Better than listening to the radio during my daily commute.

    • azteclady 08/07/2015 at 11:48 AM #

      I’m well with you on the ew factor of having a stranger reading me sex scenes–aztec no can do.

      I’m still struggling to read, anything, so no reviews for now. I want to blog, but I’m tired of posting about all the negative things–blogland drama, social drama, elections, violence and mayhem (can’t we all just get along?)–so I’m at a loss at the moment.

      Oh, well, this too shall pass (or so I do fervently hope!)

  6. bamaclm 08/07/2015 at 2:19 PM #

    Hola Az, sorry I didn’t see this sooner. I hope your reading problem is improving for you. I can’t imagine not reading, even if it’s just skimming. I admit, a lot of the time I don’t ‘take in’ completely what I’ve read.

    And – to address the elephant in the room – why no Nora reviews, since you seem to like her books?

    • azteclady 08/07/2015 at 3:10 PM #

      The reading is still not happening, sadly.

      On the Nora Roberts thing: back in September, Authors United published this open letter to amazon, and Ms Roberts is listed among the several hundred signatories.

      I know I’m not the only one who finds the whole “authors are special people, much better than, and certainly above, the common rabble suckers who buy their books” quite offensive.

      Courtney Milan and Nate Hoffelder discuss the two successive versions of the letter here and here, respectively. and do a much clearer job than I could in explaining all the issues present in that short letter.

      Despite fairly vocal criticism of the letter at the time, as far as I know, Ms Roberts has never addressed it in any way.

      I don’t read, or even recognize most of the other people listed on the letter who, apparently, agree with the asshole who wrote it in his elitism, racism, xenophobia, and general narcissism. I have been a fan of Ms Roberts for a couple of decades now, and I honestly expected better of her.

      Because she has always been so classy, and so generous with her success, I expected her to react, somehow, at some point, to the pretty direct insult to her reader base.

      It’s been over half a year and… nothing.

      And so, my puny boycott remains.

  7. kristiej 14/07/2015 at 7:54 PM #

    I haven’t had a slump for a while now and fingers crossed I won’t ‘ cause I’ve had them in the past and they are horrible. It’s like a vital part of you is missing and you can’t seem to find it again. Fingers crossed that the audio books will jump start the slump and end it.
    Funny you should mention JDRobb/Nora Roberts audio books. I just got the Born In series by Nora as well as another one by her in audio format to listen to while I’m doing some upcoming long drives.

    • azteclady 16/07/2015 at 12:27 AM #

      Thank you, Kristie!

      I hope you have the most wonderful time at RWA this year–don’t speed up, though! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So it goes (better) | Her Hands, My Hands - 16/07/2015

    […] still not reading–which sucks rotten eggs. As KristieJ said in her comment here, it’s like an essential bit of my soul is missing. This is a symptom of other shit going on […]

  2. Rock Redemption, by Nalini Singh | Her Hands, My Hands - 02/12/2015

    […] the reading slump from Hell got in the way; later on, life got in the way, and so on, and so forth. To make an already long […]

Leave a Reply

