I am such a language snob

15 Aug

Which is problematic, as I have a strong accent, and often mispronounce words that I have only seen written, and never heard before; and because this thing I’m going to rant about? It is a apparently a very widespread thing,¹ and not actually wrong (it just bothers me²).

However, as I was listening to an audiobook, the narrator kept adding consonants at the end of words, and I kept growling. I have heard this verbal…tick? orwhatever it is, in Tom Hiddleston’s and Patrick Stewart’s clips; there’s a scene in the 1995 Pride and Prejudice miniseries (which I otherwise love) in which actress Anna Chancellor refers to her character’s sister as LouisaR. Several acquaintances do it…and I cringe every single time.

It’s ideA, nor ideaR.

It’s formulA, not formulaR

It’s withdrawAl, not withdrawRal

and so on and so forth.

Drives me absolutely batty, every  single time.

Of course, I imagine hearing me read pretty much anything in English would drive a lot of my gentle readers up a wall–and for someone from, say, Spain, my Mexican pronunciation would be both confusing and hilarious.³

~ * ~

¹ There is a Wikipedia page on it, even!

² Imagine Zoe from Firefly, when she talks about Wash in the Out of Gas episode.

³ We heathens do not differentiate between “s” and “z,” or “v” and “b;” our pronunciation of “j” is infinitely softer than theirs; and we have four different sounds for the letter X, while they stick to one.

 

8 Responses to “I am such a language snob”

  1. Bona 15/08/2015 at 9:13 AM #

    I understand what you say here. It happens many times, and I think that sometimes you’re more conscious of these mannerisms when it’s not your mother tongue. When someone begins and ends each sentence with ‘like’, for instance, or ‘you know’ – I just could kill that person!
    Mexican hilarious? Never, don’t say that. Confusing? Perhaps, some times. On the other hand, we Spaniards speak a very rude and full of f-words Spanish, don’t you think? The good thing is that we can still understand each other.

    • azteclady 15/08/2015 at 9:41 AM #

      I think you must have met only polite Mexicans 😀 My late father had a very er…extensive vocabulary, and I had a very good ear for it.

      But yes, the important thing is to understand each other.

  2. selacarsen 15/08/2015 at 9:31 AM #

    I’m having an audiobook done on a super-short story I wrote, and my narrator is English, not American, which means that she adds that extra ‘r’ you’ve noted. I can’t help but find it charming, rather than an imperfection. 🙂

    And my mother is from Central America. When we want a giggle, we ask if she needs any new sheets.* She blushes and laughs and says she might want new linens.
    *The long /ee/ sound always seems to come out as a short /i/.

    • azteclady 15/08/2015 at 9:54 AM #

      If you want to laugh, ask me to write a cheat sheet 😉

  3. Lori 15/08/2015 at 6:25 PM #

    ROFL!!! I want to hear your ‘cheat sheet’.

    Both my parents were New York Jews and no matter how many years on the west coast, those accents are never lost. What’s funny is that anytime I hear a New York accent, I always immediately think that I hear a Jew, not a New Yorker.

    • azteclady 15/08/2015 at 6:31 PM #

      That is funny–but speaks a lot about how childhood memories influence adult minds, no?

  4. Deirdre 16/08/2015 at 7:06 PM #

    My mother is from Texas originally, and she still says warsh.

    • azteclady 16/08/2015 at 7:29 PM #

      Really? That’s one I don’t think I have heard.

Leave a Reply

