Still here…somewhat.

12 Oct

Holy smokes, it’s been over a month since I so much as spent a few minutes around here, let alone actually posted.

I’m behind on everything, and this is, still, not a full post, more a brief note to catch up.

Also, gratuitous kitten pictures. (Wendy, you were right.)

Gaby the desk kitteh

~ * ~

So, the transition to the new position was even more complicated than we thought it would be, due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control. That actually worked in my favor, because it pushed back my ‘swim or sink’ deadline almost ten days.

I like what I’m doing now quite a bit, even though I’m still stumbling some. The good news is that, so far at least, most of my coworkers have been very understanding and accommodating of my mistakes. I only hope to be up to speed before I exhaust their goodwill.

Some more good news: the refinancing went through, yay!  And while it also means that, when all is said and done, I’ll have paid the actual value of the property at least four times, right now it means cash left in my checking account every month. Let me repeat, Yay!

All of the above, but mostly the training/covering for other people has kept me busy, and working long hours (fifteen hours days have been more the norm than the exception for the last three weeks or so).

Exhausted is my natural state these days.

~ * ~

But there are more good news–in the form of the above kitteh.

Back on September 17th, a coworker arrived at work to find that a terrified kitten had traveled under the hood of his car. He got a handful of us to try and help him fish the kitten out, and once I had my hands on her, it was a done deal. This tiny, trembling ball of fur and fear, was mine.

A few hours later, she was relaxed enough to ride on my shoulder on the way home.

Still a shoulder kitteh

She is young enough that I didn’t feel comfortable leaving her home alone, particularly when I’m away for sixteen hours or so, once you add travel time. I cannot tell you how grateful I am that I’m fortunate to work for a company where bringing a kitten to work raises no eyebrows.

And so, Gaby has come to work with me every weekday for the past four and half weeks.

Still a desk kitteh

She works hard, and occasionally crashes right in the middle of a task–but she’s always game to ride on my shoulder.

And still a shoulder kitteh

I’ll be very sorry when she’s too big to fit herself comfortably in her favorite riding spot.

Riding my shoulder

~ * ~

Many things have happened in the wider world–not to mention the many, many filings in the EC v DA lawsuit. I hope to have the energy and time this week to write about those. In the meantime, I’m updating the long list of links at the end of this post, so you can follow what Courtney Milan and Deirdre Saoirse Moen have, so far, written.

17 Responses to “Still here…somewhat.”

  1. Miss Bates 12/10/2015 at 8:15 AM #

    Oh my gosh, your kitty is like beyond adorable!! And very glad to hear that things are going so well for you. 🙂

    • azteclady 12/10/2015 at 8:18 AM #

      Thank you so much, my dear Miss Bates! She’s given me so much laughter and sweet moments–just what I needed these past few weeks.

      (And always, now that I think about it)

  2. willaful 12/10/2015 at 12:31 PM #

    I’m glad to hear things have eased up a bit, money-wise. And what an awesome kitteh!

    • azteclady 12/10/2015 at 1:11 PM #

      She has the most mellow, laid back character ever. I mean, she rides on my shoulder, to and from work, and either falls asleep, or starts grooming herself.

  3. Carolyn 12/10/2015 at 1:08 PM #

    Congratulations on your new baby. 🙂 And on the loan. And on the job. All deserved, pretty lady.

    • azteclady 12/10/2015 at 1:12 PM #

      *curtsy* Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  4. Mad 12/10/2015 at 1:17 PM #

    Aww! She’s adorable!

    • azteclady 12/10/2015 at 1:18 PM #

      My lady Fatin! :hugglepounce: Long time no see! How are you?

      (Yes, yes, she is 😀 )

  5. Mad (@mad4rombks) 12/10/2015 at 1:18 PM #

    Eep! Not sure why it signed me in as a random icon the first time.

    • azteclady 12/10/2015 at 1:19 PM #

      My standard answer to that kind of thing: wordpress is weird.

  6. brae 13/10/2015 at 12:02 AM #

    Aw, what a cute kitty! 😀

    • azteclady 13/10/2015 at 12:11 AM #

      Thank you, Brae! (and welcome to my humble corner of the intrawebs)

  7. Lori 13/10/2015 at 4:18 AM #

    Cute kitten. Cute you. And many delights that things are taking an upswing in your corner of the world.

    About time you caught a break.

  8. SuperWendy 17/10/2015 at 6:23 PM #

    Well of course I was right! Think of how much time we would save if you just acknowledged this up front 🙂

    That is the sweetest damn kitten I’ve seen in my entire life. Seriously.

    Glad to hear the refinancing worked out – and I hear ya on the job front. I’m in the same boat right now and pretty much lost at sea. I figure this to shall pass….

    • azteclady 17/10/2015 at 6:30 PM #

      I have learned my lesson, Wendy, and will bow to your wisdom on all manner of things.

      And yes, she’s incredibly sweet, and so patient. After all, I do work really long hours, and she’s confined with me in a fairly small space for most of those (a few coworkers occasionally borrow her for ‘kitteh therapy,’ and they share a large, enclosed space).

      Here’s hoping your work overload eases up some sooner rather than later.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crazy cat lady | Her Hands, My Hands - 10/12/2015

    […] so, after a few months of rattling about alone in my house, I was more than ready for Gaby to show […]

Leave a Reply

