You don’t have to try.

26 Jan

Recently I have been paying more attention to diversity of representation in the media I enjoy.

I have also been quite fed up with music without meaning. Don’t get me wrong, catchy songs are great–but a song where the same four phrases are repeated twenty seven times ? (“Feliz Navidad,” I’m looking at you)

So, while one can argue that, because the singer is yet another young, slim, white, privileged woman, this song is just more of the same…well, I really like the message of the song, and I absolutely love the video:

And, say what you will, it takes courage for Ms Caillat to ‘take it all off’ on camera.

4 Responses to “You don’t have to try.”

  1. willaful 26/01/2016 at 4:43 PM #

    That was great, thanks.

    I was reminded of the make-up scene in “Pleasantville” — such a sad, tender moment of having to put a mask on. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50IAOnaA3Ro

  2. Lori 26/01/2016 at 8:55 PM #

    Love the message and the liberation of women freeing themselves. But seriously, love the accept yourself message.

    • azteclady 26/01/2016 at 9:05 PM #

      Yes, I love the message of the song–and I absolutely adore, in the video, the face of the girl that lipsynchs the line, “wait a second, why should you care, what they think of you.”

      Why, indeed.

Leave a Reply

