You will start paying attention, NOW?

4 May

I have to shake my head.

Some of you already know that most of my co-workers are rabid Republicans–and they have no problem talking politics in the office, during working hours. Loudly.

Which means that the headphones are on for most of my workday–which is not so bad, actually.

However, even then, I cannot avoid listening to some amazing pearls of wisdom. Such as a co-worker saying this morning, “Well, now that we know Trump is the Republican nominee, I guess I should start paying more attention to what he says.”

Ya think???

Reminds me of this post by Lori, one of my two favorite Old Farts

6 Responses to “You will start paying attention, NOW?”

  1. SuperWendy 04/05/2016 at 12:01 PM #

    O.M.G. I like to think that I’m pretty professional around the office, but if I had to listen to that at work I’d start throwing things.

    This is the world we live in now – I’m reading statements from long-time Republicans who are now like, “Yeah, I’m totally voting for Hillary.”

    • azteclady 04/05/2016 at 12:14 PM #

      And I pray more Republicans will finally look at Trump and go, “no way in hell!”

      Sadly, if the sample I have to work with are representative…

  2. Lori 04/05/2016 at 12:59 PM #

    My brother is a conservative and a lover of the Faux News. We have interesting conversations and many disagreements. When the Donald started running, we both laughed and poked the fun. Last week, my brother said, “well, you know, he does have a point about…”

    Which leads me to these conclusions: the average Republican will find reasons to support Donald because they hate Hillary. (I don’t like Hillary in the least but if she gets the nod, she gets my vote. At least I know she won’t lead us into Armegeddan). They’ll overlook his racism and sexism because they’re actually okay with it. They just don’t like to admit it. But secretly they feel a little relief because Donald makes it okay.

    But for a lot of people who think Entertainment Weekly is a news show and Facebook is as good a place as any to get your news, then this is just the culture of celebrity making its mark. Kim Kardashian for president in 2020! Vote the butt into the White House! They don’t hear what Donald says because they don’t have to. Politics is sound bites and they don’t take any of this seriously.

    We are so fucked.

    • azteclady 04/05/2016 at 1:03 PM #

      And this is precisely why I am so afraid–the immense majority who’ll just vote for the party (who gives a fuck what the candidate espouses? let’s bury those Democrats!), followed by the people who just can’t imagine a woman, let alone Hillary Clinton (who dared have a freaking career beyond First Lady–name one Republican president wife who can say the same), and the (thankfully fewer in numbers) racists assholes who feel threatened by anything resembling equality.

  3. Alex Hurst 05/05/2016 at 5:03 PM #

    Oh my god…. that would infuriate me into resignation. I don’t know how you can handle it (or if you even do!) What angers me more is that your coworker will blindly vote for party, instead of candidate. This is why parties go downhill….

    • azteclady 05/05/2016 at 6:11 PM #

      Yes! that’s the thing that amazes me the most–regardless of who it is, or what his position is, she will vote Republican.

      Then again, it’s never been, “what’s best for the country?” Instead, it’s, “we must get Obama out of the WH, we must thwart Hillary.”

      (And I handle it because I don’t have much choice–work that pays a living wage is not readily available for people without a college degree.)

Leave a Reply

