Devastated.

9 Nov

Whatever social progress was made in the last six decades in the USoA?

Pretty much sure to be gone within six months. The Voting Rights Act was gutted, and the next President elect is a misogynist, a xenophobe, a racist, an ignoramus, a compulsive liar, who says things like “I will consult myself first, because I have a very good brain, and I have said things,” with a straight face. But hey, he’s a white cis philanderer who’s proud of how he can grab women’s genitals, because he’s a ‘celebrity.’

The fate of the planet in the face of a US President who believes climate change is a hoax?

Yeah, I should start making plans to move inland from Florida soon.

And I don’t even want to think about what is going to happen to the world’s economy with this…this waste of space plutocrat wannabe and his cadre of self serving ass-kissers in power in the USoA for dog knows how long.

It sure looks like all that ‘post-racial’ society crap was indeed a very thin veneer barely covering hatred.

May the universe have pity on us all.

6 Responses to “Devastated.”

  1. Lori 10/11/2016 at 3:15 PM #

    Everywhere I’m turning, I’m reading ‘don’t be decisive’. My brother told me, “Give him a chance”. And I thought about it, I did. I also thought about how much hate speech he’s already spouted, how turning the other cheek is something we’ve done for years and it’s led to a nation stalled…

    So I’m saying no. Donald Trump might be America’s president elect but he does not represent me. His hate speech, his misogyny, his racism do not represent me. He is a bully, a blowhard and vulgar and he does not represent me.

    I have signed on to participate with NARAL to try and protect the rights of women to get safe and legal abortions. I have signed up to participate with the Anti-Defamation League to try and make sure that anti-semitism is seen, heard and fought. I will do what I have to do to protect my rights and the rights of other American’s so that we don’t turn back the clock and let Hate win.

    I can wallow or I can fight.

    I will fight.

    • azteclady 10/11/2016 at 4:03 PM #

      Yes, yes, YES!!!

      I am so tired of liberal Americans being told to be nice and polite, and be careful about their tone, and all that jazz–because all that turning the other cheek and waiting politely/nicely for karma to reward us? all that got us was harder and more frequent hits squarely across the face.

    • Dorine 19/11/2016 at 9:43 PM #

      This is exactly what I told a friend today who is struggling with this devastation. We have to choose our battles to make sure our voices are heard. I think it’s the only way we can endure the next 4 years. I will fight because it’s the only way we can win.

  2. Bona Caballero 19/11/2016 at 10:14 AM #

    I share your feelings. I’m devastated but also very angry.
    The worst thing is that -as a Spanish journalist said- Trump is not the illness but just another symptom.
    After the Brexit, for instance. One symptom.
    Or the shameful way of reacting against refugees here in Europe (I can’t believe it in a continent that has sent war refugees all over the world, really, how can anybody for instance in Spain reject refugees when we were sending thousands of them abroad 80 years ago and they were accepted in France and in México, Venezuela, Puerto Rico. Argentina… How could we forget so easily what it is to lose your country?. To be a foreigner asking for help just to keep on living?
    Erdogan and his detaining and torturing anybody who is against him.
    Trump? It is just another shocking news, perhaps the greatest because it’s the one that will have more influence on everybody’s lives.
    But it’s not the only one and he could be not the last one. Norbert Hofer in Austria and Geert WIlders in the Netherlands are waiting to join the Hungarian Orbán in the Top 10 more xenophobic leaders of the world.
    Soldiers of Odin? Not a romance series, but something as racist as it sounds.
    And don’t forget that next year Marine Le Pen can win the election in France.

    The illness is populism, a very useful way to achieve power when there’s a strong economichal problem. Hitler would have never succeded if it were not because of the 1929 crisis. Now it is very easy to imagine why people in Germany voted for him, isn’t it?
    But populism is just the technique they use -from the right wing but also from the left, as it can be seen in both Greece and Spain -, when they arrive to power they have their own agendas that imply destroying great groups of people who are seen as the enemy.
    None of them wants to create an inclusive society in which everybody can have an opportunity to live and work together. They need scapegoats, always.
    And in order to create hate, they use victimism, lack of personal responsability – That’s something I’ve seen in Spanish politics all my life.

    The sad thing is that the people who vote for this kind of leader, who give them power, are not someone from far away but our co-workers, people from our families, or friends. I think that’s the worst thing -to see someone you appreciate fall for the lies they are told without stopping just one moment to think.

    Is there anything good in all this? People have to react and make an effort if they want their rights to be respected. We have to fight, we cannot stay at home and just vote once each four years. It’s very sad, but we haven’t seen the worst -yet. So we have to get ready and don’t be nice, don’t give an inch, don’t surrender. They do not win until you surrender.

    Sorry for my long comment, but it’s not only an awful 8th november. It’s been awful for years now. It was an opportunity to vent my feelings.

    • azteclady 08/01/2017 at 12:55 AM #

      Dear Bona, I apologize for taking so long to reply to this. I still don’t really have the words, other than to say that you are welcome always to comment here, long or short, and that I agree with all you said.

      And with Lori above, in that we have to fight every day, and stop expecting ‘the system’ to work and protect us. No system can do that when the people who depend on it do nothing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Book Club Murders, by Leslie Nagel | Her Hands, My Hands - 07/01/2017

    […] for this cozy mystery, and was happy to get an ARC some time ago. However, what with one thing and another, it took me a while to get to […]

Leave a Reply

