Class action against ARe and Lori James

14 Jan

I just learned, though an update at Writer Beware’s blog, that a class action has been filed against All Romance eBooks and Lori James, in Florida (where the company is/was registered).

In layman’s terms (sorta–IANAL, after all), the point here is that when a business closes its doors with barely four days notice, and basically refuses to disburse commission monies (royalties) for products it sold, this breach of contract is grounds for legal action–and, with any luck, a criminal investigation may follow.

Given how many small publishers have crashed and burned in the past twenty years,¹ with the owners all too often absconding with a lot of money from hard working authors (and editors, graphic artists, etc), I am glad to see that a number of authors have finally banded together to hold at least this one accountable through the courts.

Whether or not the authors will recover enough actual cash to make it worth the effort (a top notch law firm, like the one engaged in this case, costs a helluva lotsa money, after all), it may give other unscrupulous asshats a bit of pause.

Here’s hoping, in any case.

~ * ~

¹ I was scrolling down Karen Scott’s blog, tag epublishers behaving badly, and the list is freaking long. The saddest part? This list is mostly confined to romance specific small publishers; I’m certain the list would be several times longer if all genres were included.

4 Responses to “Class action against ARe and Lori James”

  1. Lori 15/01/2017 at 12:12 AM #

    I hope they take Lori James for everything and then some.

    • azteclady 15/01/2017 at 12:26 AM #

      I fervently wish there’s a lot of money stashed somewhere that the authors can recoup.

      But I don’t credit this woman, anymore than I credit Tina Engler and Patti Marks, with enough intelligence to do that, so I don’t hold much hope of it.

      • Anon 15/01/2017 at 1:35 PM #

        Hi Aztec lady, just wondering if you’ve heard about the closure of wilde City press.
        I only mention it here as A contrast to the way all Romance e-book closed.

      • azteclady 15/01/2017 at 4:22 PM #

        Anon, up until now, I didn’t even know such a publisher existed.

        I did a quick check at Absolute Write, and saw that The Passive Voice quoted a facebook post about the closure.

        At first glance, it does look like these people are doing things right–though I wonder why they haven’t, for example, eliminated the banner about their ‘exclusive’ book club from their main page–but that’s just cynical so-and-so me.

        I’m also a lot more skeptical these days about whether good intentions in writing translate into decent deeds.

        I do hope the principals at Wilde City Press do behave decently towards their authors, editors, cover artists, and readers, but I’ll believe it when I see it.

        If you happen to be one of their authors/editors/cover artists, I wish you luck.

Leave a Reply

