Hurricane #Irma chez aztec

12 Sep

As some of you may know, I’m in Florida, in the Greater Orlando area. We were in Hurricane Irma’s forecast path for several days. Fortunately, we were not hit directly.

My house is still standing. Lost some siding, some soffit, and the back porch is a loss, but otherwise, the house is still structurally sound. Yay!

On the other hand, my side yard is impassable, due to tree limbs and other debris that, by the grace of some unknown deity, didn’t hit the house itself. And I have no power, no internet, and no cell phone signal. Yay.

I am one of the lucky ones.

Thank you all who sent good thoughts our way.

14 Responses to “Hurricane #Irma chez aztec”

  1. willaful 12/09/2017 at 2:47 PM #

    I’m so glad you’re okay and relatively unscathed. I wish I could help with cleanup.

    • azteclady 12/09/2017 at 2:56 PM #

      :hug: Thank you, I’m fortunate that a lot of it will be on the homeowner’s association (including replacing the siding/soffit). So many are on their own after something like this!

  2. Bona 12/09/2017 at 2:53 PM #

    I’m so glad to hear about you. It’s great that your loss is very little. I was worried not only because of the hurricanes but also because of the earthquake in Mexico. I still remember the awful destruction of 1985 Mexico City earthquake. So I was worried thinking about you, your relatives and friends. Hope everybody is all right and I wish we could do something to help.

    • azteclady 12/09/2017 at 2:59 PM #

      Thank you, your friendship does help, Bona. I am, again, very lucky. Although the quake was felt in Mexico City, there was no damage there, and all my immediate family are fine.

      People in the coastal states, on both sides of Mexico, are dealing with the wake of the earthquake and the effects of hurricane Katya, which hit them about the same time Irma hit Florida.

  3. Art Kaufmann 12/09/2017 at 7:50 PM #

    Great to hear that you’re ok and that the damage is manageable (and the HOA responsibility!)

    • azteclady 14/09/2017 at 8:21 AM #

      ::waving:: Thank you, Art; it’s a considerable relief that most of the damage is on them; what isn’t, will just have to wait a bit. Hope you guys are okay and far, far from the fires!

  4. deborahkehoe 12/09/2017 at 9:02 PM #

    I’m so glad that you came through the storm relatively unscathed! It’s been awful seeing whats happened to both Houston and Florida. I have a cousin in Florida and he’s without power. I hope you all can recover relatively quick? Take Care!

    • azteclady 13/09/2017 at 8:18 AM #

      Thank you! Like I said, I’m one of the lucky ones.

  5. Helen R-S 13/09/2017 at 9:32 AM #

    I’m glad to hear you’re safe and your house is still standing 🙂

  6. KeiraSoleore 13/09/2017 at 5:04 PM #

    I am very relieved to hear that you are OK and your house is still standing. However, it must be disheartening to see how much has been destroyed and to begin the task of cleaning up and repairing. I wish you all my best from so far away. You’re in my thoughts.

    • azteclady 14/09/2017 at 8:24 AM #

      As I’ve said, I’m incredibly lucky; the destruction near me, and pretty much in all of the Greater Orlando area is mostly in vegetation, and of course, so many people without power. Further South and West of us suffered a lot of property damage, and the lack of power in critical facilities, like nursing homes, is now a mortal danger for many.

  7. Miss Bates 13/09/2017 at 5:22 PM #

    Greetings from MissB! So grateful to hear you’re well and house doesn’t have major structural damage. Always in my prayers. 🙂

    • azteclady 14/09/2017 at 8:24 AM #

      ::hug:: thank you, my dear Miss B!

Leave a Reply

