On actually using your brain for thinking.

13 Dec

In view of the many moronic things being said all over the media–both by people like Donald “I’m an lying, racist, bigotted asshole” Trump, and the “let’s go back to the times of the wild, wild frontier, and carry guns everywhere” sheriffs, universities, et al¹–it’s incredibly refreshing to see a young man, who actually would have cause to be bitterly biased against an entire group of people, stop to think, and then speak out.

Here’s a screenshot, for those of you who’d rather not do the facebook thing.

Chris Herbert on Islamophobia

Reading the above helps restore my (usually low) faith in humanity.

~ * ~

¹ I’m sure that’s going to end reeeeeeeeally well. I mean, it’s not like there are plenty of morons out there who own guns without having the faintest idea how to use them, right? (Please note that those links are from early this year, so here are a few more: a toddler shot his father dead; six year old shot his younger brother dead; a toddler shot her grandmother from the back seat of a car. Note all three of these happened less than three months ago.)

Edited to add some links: minimum number of children deaths by gun, in the US, since the Sandy Hook massacre. And a wiki tracking mass shootings in the US, per year–with sources.

8 Responses to “On actually using your brain for thinking.”

  1. bamaclmCarolyn 13/12/2015 at 3:58 PM #

    This is a hard one for me. We’ve always had guns in the house, hunting rifles and my husband’s handguns from his policing days. They’re locked up in a gun cabinet and he trained both boys in all the do’s and don’ts of handling them, and that they are NEVER playthings.

    Most folks in this area have guns; this is a hunting community. I can’t recall ever hearing of an accidental death of the kind you listed.

    I get pissed when I hear the NRA’s rhetoric, but at the same time I know it’s people, not the guns that are responsible for deaths and accidents. Guns don’t have brains. Perhaps those wanting a firearm license should pass a test, much like a traffic test to get a driver’s license, only more in depth.

    One thing’s for sure, it won’t be settled anytime soon.

    • azteclady 13/12/2015 at 4:05 PM #

      My main problem is that the so-called requirements to own, and even to carry, guns, are utterly meaningless.

      And the number of people shooting each other over the most ridiculous things–road rage, poor service somewhere, what have you–is just ridiculous.

      • Erin S. Burns 14/12/2015 at 12:49 AM #

        The barrier for entry is shockingly low.

      • azteclady 14/12/2015 at 3:48 AM #

        To the point where there is no barrier.

  2. Erin S. Burns 14/12/2015 at 12:38 AM #

    That post has been an argument buster for me all week.

  3. SuperWendy 14/12/2015 at 12:02 PM #

    I’m a lot like Carolyn. My father has guns (a couple of rifles – he used to hunt and he keeps them locked up – also god knows the last time there was ammo in the house – 30 years probably), his father had guns, his brother had guns – Midwest is hunting country. And while I don’t think we should be giving out gun licenses like Tic-Tacs (in my mind if you’re a responsible gun owner a few added restrictions shouldn’t get your panties in a bunch – but that’s just me), I also think there’s something deeper going on here – from a psychological / societal / whatever standpoint.

    We need comprehensive medical studies on gun violence. We just do. We need answers and while I’m certainly not opposed to stricter gun laws – I think that’s only part of the answer. There’s something more here that currently is not being acknowledged because I don’t think we fully understand it….yet.

    • azteclady 14/12/2015 at 12:26 PM #

      Yes, we do need more research (I was reading this piece about it earlier).

      I was also following someone’s tweet stream, where they re-posted Japan’s requirements for gun ownership, and I thought basically the same thing you do: why should it be such a big effing deal to prove to the state that you are, in fact, responsible enough to own the frakking gun?

Leave a Reply

