When will it stop?

20 Nov

I have written here before about gun control.

Like other things I feel passionately about, violence involving guns is not something I have experienced first hand.

Today, however, it came ever closer.

I have two adult offspring, and just a few minutes into today, there was a shooting at one of the libraries at the college my daughter attends.

While she is physically safe, three other students were injured, two of them seriously enough to be in the hospital.

The only casualty so far is the gunman himself. An alumnus of the school, all sorts of explanations for his actions are being put forth, with mental illness as the easiest for both the cops and the media to put out there.

You know what?

I don’t care, I sincerely do not give a fuck what the official explanation is.

I care that we finally get off our fucking asses and do something about the fact that everyone and their children can–and do–get their hands on guns, often with terrible consequences.

 

 

7 Responses to “When will it stop?”

  1. Miss Bates 20/11/2014 at 7:53 PM #

    I was in a university library across town on the day Marc Lépine walked into an engineering classroom at the University of Montreal, separated the men from the women, and shot fourteen women. Subsequently, friends, families, and concerned citizens worked hard to ensure that we have a gun registry and stricter gun control, much lauded and supported by police forces as well. Every time the Canadian government dissolves another gun regulation, I mourn those women all over gain, as I’ll mourn and remember this December 6th. This December 6th will be the 25th anniversary of the shootings.

    • azteclady 20/11/2014 at 7:59 PM #

      I am so sorry, Miss Bates.

      And I imagine that each time something like today’s shooting happens, it brings it back to you.

      It’s so utterly senseless, so stupid.

      • Miss Bates 20/11/2014 at 8:29 PM #

        Oh, how kind, thank you. I hope your country sees the importance of gun control because, yes, the senselessness of this is utterly incomprehensible.

  2. Lori 20/11/2014 at 8:06 PM #

    I no longer know what the answer is. I don’t believe in banning guns yet obviously there needs to be greater restrictions, wait times, proof of mental competency to own a gun.

    I’m relieved that your daughter is fine. And I agree there must be more to guarantee she remains fine.

    And Miss Bates, I never before heard of that shooting but now I know I’ll mourn with you.

    • azteclady 20/11/2014 at 8:15 PM #

      Miss Bates, I never before heard of that shooting but now I know I’ll mourn with you.

      As will I.

  3. Bona 22/11/2014 at 4:44 AM #

    Being a foreigner, I haven’t got enough data about the country you live in to know why there are so many violent acts overthere.
    Here is the way it’s seen in our newspapers
    We only know that USA is the number one in fire arms per inhabitant in the world and the second one in homicides -the first one is Mexico, but because of the terrible problem of the narcos, so I think that you cannot compare.
    So it looks like there’s a correlation between number of fire arms per inhabitant and the number of homicides.
    3.2 homicides using a fire arm in USA by 100.000 inhabitants. Italy 0.7, UK 0.3, Spain and Germany 0.2. They are impressive numbers.

  4. Throwmearope 03/12/2014 at 3:05 PM #

    I have an indecent proposal (at least from the point of view of a whole lot of Americans): treat guns like cars, because both can be deadly. To drive my car, I had to take and pass tests to prove my competence. I have to maintain insurance on my car, to pay for any harm my vehicle might cause–personal and property both. I am subject to large fines if I let my insurance lapse.

    I would argue that to buy a gun, one must pass tests proving competence (one of my favorite blogs details ridiculous gun accidents on a weekly basis). Then one must purchase insurance to cover any damages to person or property my gun (not that I would ever, ever own one, mind you) caused.

    Hey, AL, I’ve been away from teh webbies for a long time, good to find your blog.

Leave a Reply

